French Barbarians get the better of Wallaby XV

Date published: November 25 2016

The French Barbarians registered a deserved 19-11 victory over the Wallaby XV in an entertaining clash in Bordeaux on Thursday.

Both sides crossed for a try apiece but it was the accurate goalkicking of replacement back Romain Lonca, who finished with an 11-point haul courtesy of three penalties and a conversion, which helped the Barbarians secure victory.

Wallaby XV flyer Marika Koroibete impressed on his professional rugby union debut as he looked dangerous with ball in hand but the match ended on a sour note for Jono Lance who broke his arm three minutes into the match.

The Wallaby XV raced into an 8-0 lead after Nick Frisby slotted a penalty and Ben Mowen scored a try. This, after running onto a pass from Koroibete but Romain Lonca added a penalty which narrowed the gap to five points at the interval.

Dumora added his first penalty in the 54th minute before adding two further three-pointers from the kicking tee which gave his side the lead before a Kyle Godwin penalty made it a one-point game.

The Baa-baas sealed victory three minutes before full-time when Raphael Lakafia crashed over for a deserved try.

The scorers:

For French Barbarians:
Cons: Dumora
Pens: Dumora 3, Lonca

For Wallaby XV:
Ben Mowen
Pens: Godwin, Frisby

French Barbarians: 15 Arthur Bonneval, 14 Louis Dupichot, 13 Pierre Aguillon, 12 Aurelien Rougerie, 11 Blair Connor, 10 Romain Lonca, 9 Yann Lesgourgues, 8 Raphael Lakafia, 7 Camille Gerondeau, 6 Romain Sazy, 5 Rodrigo Capo Ortega, 4 Felix Lambey, 3 Julien Brugnaut, 2 Remy Bonfils, 1 Lucas Pointud
Replacements: 16 Jean Charles Orioli, 17 Jean-Baptiste Poux, 18 Loic Jacquet, 19 Jean Monribot, 20 Antoine Dupont, 21 Julien Dumora, 22 Julien Caminati, 23 Alexandre Menini

Wallaby XV: 15 Luke Morahan, 14 Marika Koroibete, 13 Mark Gerrard, 12 Kyle Godwin, 11 Taqele Naiyaravoro, 10 Jono Lance, 9 Nick Frisby, 8 Ben Mowen, 7 Jack Dempsey, 6 Peter Kimlin, 5 Sam Carter, 4 Will Skelton (c), 3 Tom Robertson, 2 Nathan Charles, 1 Paddy Ryan
Replacements: 16 Andrew Ready, 17 Sef Fa’agase, 18 David Lolohea, 19 Scott Fardy, 20 Henry Vanderglas, 21 Nic Stirzaker, 22 Izaia Perese, 23 Andrew Kellaway 24 Henry Clunies-Ross

Referee: Juan Sylvestre (Argentina)
Assistant Referees: Laurent Cardona (France), Maxime Chalon (France)
TMO: Arnaud Blondel (France)