Four uncapped players in Wales squad

Date published: May 30 2014

Wales head coach Warren Gatland has announced a 32-man squad for the upcoming three-match June tour of South Africa.

Wales coach Warren Gatland has named a 32-man squad for the three-match June tour of South Africa.

Veteran Ospreys lock Alun Wyn Jones will captain the side.

There are four uncapped players, all backs: wing Jordan Williams, centre Steve Shingler, scrum-half Gareth Davies (all Scarlets) and Bristol-bound Ospreys fly-half Matthew Morgan.

The announcement was made following the Wales Senior Trial at the Liberty Stadium in Swansea, which the Probables won 55-7.

The versatile Perpigan back James Hook is included with Liam Williams the only specialist full-back in the squad.

Scarlets tighthead Samson Lee is included despite being forced off the field during Friday's trial match.

Jones takes the helm from the injured Sam Warburton, who is joined on the sidelines by Leigh Halfpenny, Scott Williams, Richard Hibbard and Justin Tipuric.

The squad will depart for Suth Africa next Thursday (June 5) and will begin the tour with a fixture against Eastern Province Kings in Port Elizabeth on Tuesday June 10.

The first test against the Springboks takes place in Durban on Saturday June 14 with the second a week later in Nelspruit on Saturday June 21.


Forwards: Gethin Jenkins (Cardiff Blues), Paul James (Bath), Adam Jones (Ospreys), Rhodri Jones (Scarlets), Samson Lee (Scarlets), Aaron Jarvis (Ospreys), Ken Owens (Scarlets), Matthew Rees (Cardiff Blues), Scott Baldwin (Ospreys), Alun Wyn Jones (Capt) (Ospreys), Luke Charteris (Perpignan), Jake Ball (Scarlets), Ian Evans (Ospreys), Aaron Shingler (Scarlets), Josh Turnbull (Scarlets), Dan Lydiate (Racing Metro), Taulupe Faletau (Dragons), Dan Baker (Ospreys).

Backs: Mike Phillips (Racing Metro), Gareth Davies (Scarlets), Rhodri Williams (Scarlets), Dan Biggar (Ospreys), James Hook (Perpignan), Steven Shingler (Scarlets), Jonathan Davies (Scarlets), Jamie Roberts (Racing Metro), Cory Allen (Cardiff Blues), Alex Cuthbert (Cardiff Blues), George North (Northampton Saints), Jordan Williams (Scarlets), Matthew Morgan (Ospreys), Liam Williams (Scarlets).