Four changes from Force

Date published: April 18 2013

Western Force are boosted by the return of Winston Stanley to their midfield for Friday's Super Rugby clash against the Hurricanes.

The Force are boosted by the return of Winston Stanley to their midfield for Friday's Super Rugby clash against the Hurricanes at Westpac Stadium.

Prop Tetera Faulkner, flanker Angus Cottrell, outside centre Stanley and winger Patrick Dellit are all included in the Force's run-on line-up.

Stanley returns to the midfield after scoring a try and setting up a second for Dellit a fortnight ago against the Rebels, while Cottrell returns to the blindside flank where he has started in six of the Force's eight matches in 2013.

Faulkner has worked his way into the starting tighthead role after several dynamic performances off the bench for the Force. He joins Heath Tessmann and Pek Cowan in the front row, and will replace Salesi Ma'afu (knee).

Dellit also returns to the run-on side on the right wing, joining Ed Stubbs and former Hurricane, Jayden Hayward, in the Western Australian back three. Alfie Mafi, the competition's equal leading try-scorer, will start from the bench having ranked amongst the highest running metres through the first half of the competition.

Prop Kieran Longbottom returns to the Force line-up via the bench, after missing last weekend's match following a head knock sustained against the Rebels. Longbottom will provide front row coverage for the Emirates Western Force along with hooker James Hilterbrand, who is in line to make his Super Rugby debut on Friday night.

Western Force head coach Michael Foley says it's important for his side to back up following last weekend's win over the Crusaders.

“We welcome back Gus, Tetera, Winston and Paddy this week,” he said.

“Last week the players set a new standard in preparation against the Crusaders, which reflected in how we played. We worked extremely hard for each other and it's important we push for more of the same against another quality New Zealand side.”

Western Force: 15 Jayden Hayward, 14 Patrick Dellit, 13 Winston Stanley, 12 Junior Rasolea, 11 Ed Stubbs, 10 Sam Norton-Knight, 9 Alby Mathewson, 8 Richard Brown, 7 Matt Hodgson (c), 6 Angus Cottrell, 5 Sam Wykes, 4 Toby Lynn, 3 Tetera Faulkner, 2 Heath Tessmann, 1 Pek Cowan.
Replacements: 16 James Hilterbrand, 17 Kieran Longbottom, 18 Rory Walton, 19 Chris Alcock, 20 Mick Snowden, 21 Sias Ebersohn, 22 Alfie Mafi.

Date: Friday, 19 April
Venue: Westpac Stadium
Kick-off: 19:35 (07:35 GMT)
Referee: Nick Briant (New Zealand)
Assistant referees: Mike Fraser (New Zealand), Kane McBride (New Zealand)
Television match official: Glenn Newman (New Zealand)