Five new faces for Maori All Blacks

Date published: July 16 2015

The Maori All Blacks team to play the New Zealand Barbarians in Auckland on Saturday has been named and features five new caps.

The new caps include Taranaki’s Sean Wainui in the starting line-up along with Marcel Renata, Joe Edwards, Brad Weber and Codey Rei in the reserves. 

Charlie Ngatai will again captain the side after the team’s win 27-26 win over Fiji in Suva last weekend. 

Coach Colin Cooper said he was pleased with how the team had recovered from their trip to Fiji and is confident of another committed performance. 

“The team showed true determination and resolve in a challenging contest in Fiji and I am sure they will take that commitment into the match against a strong Baabaas side," he told 

“I would love to think we can finish our campaign on a high note and continue the team’s incredible record in a rare performance on home soil, however, we won’t take anything for granted as we are up against a very strong team. 

“I am confident it will be a great encounter for the fans with a lot of stake and a number of players on both teams looking to make a case for All Blacks selection.”

Maori All Blacks: 15 Damian McKenzie, 14 Rieko Ioane, 13 Sean Wainui, 12 Charlie Ngatai (c), 11 Matt Proctor, 10 Marty McKenzie, 9 Tawera Kerr-Barlow, 8 Elliot Dixon, 7 Mitchell Crosswell, 6 Blade Thomson, 5 Hayden Triggs, 4 Joe Wheeler, 3 Brendon Edmonds, 2 Ash Dixon, 1 Joe Moody.
Replacements: 16 Quentin MacDonald, 17 Joe Royal, 18 Marcel Renata, 19 Akira Ioane, 20 Joe Edwards, 21 Brad Weber, 22 Otere Black, 23 Codey Rei.

Date: Saturday, July 18
Venue: Eden Park, Auckland
Kick-off: 19:35 local (07:35 GMT)
Referee: Kane McBride
Assistant referees: Brendon Pickerill, Angus Mabey
Television match official: Shaun Elliott