Five changes from struggling Italy

Date published: June 19 2014


Italy have made five changes to their starting line-up that will take on Japan on Saturday as they look to end an eight-game losing run.

Italy have made five changes to their starting line-up that will face Japan in Tokyo on Saturday as they look to end a worrying eight-game losing streak.

Into the side comes Leonardo Sarto, Michele Campagnaro, Luciano Orquera, Joshua Furno and Marco Bortolami after a 15-0 loss to Samoa.

That quintet replace Angelo Esposito, Gonzalo Garcia, Tommaso Allan, Paul Derbyshire and George Fabio in a must-win game for the team.

Italy went down to Samoa last week, following on from a loss to Fiji in their opening game on tour, with the recent negative being their twelfth defeat in their last thirteen fixtures since June 2013.

Italy: 15 Luke McLean, 14 Leonardo Sarto, 13 Michele Campagnaro, 12 Andrea Masi, 11 Giovambattista Venditti, 10 Luciano Orquera, 9 Tito Tebaldi, 8 Robert Barbieri, 7 Mauro Bergamasco, 6 Joshua Furno, 5 Marco Bortolami, 4 Quintin Geldenhuys, 3 Lorenzo Cittadini, 2 Leonardo Ghiraldini, 1 Alberto De Marchi.
Replacements: tbc

Date: Saturday, June 21
Kick-off: 14:00 local (06:00 BST, 05:00 GMT)
Venue: Prince Chichibu Memorial Stadium, Tokyo
Referee: Jaco Peyper (South Africa)
Assistant referees: Garratt Williamson (New Zealand), Brendon Pickerill (New Zealand)
Television match official: Peter Marshall (Australia)
Assessor: Andrew Cole (Australia)