First win for Hawke’s Bay

Date published: September 15 2016

Hawke’s Bay picked up their first Mitre 10 Cup victory of 2016 on Thursday as they pulled away from Southland to win 43-29 in Invercargill.

After losing their opening four matches, this was a must-win game against the Championship’s bottom side as the Magpies can finally smile.

The Stags in fact led 12-10 at the break thanks to the boot of Wharenui Hawera, with scrum-half Brad Weber having crossed for the Magpies.

But after the turnaround it was all Hawke’s Bay as tries from hooker Ash Dixon and full-back Matt Garland set them on their way before wing Mason Emerson, flanker Tony Lamborn and fly-half Ihaia West wrapped up the win. However, they stay rooted to the Premiership’s bottom spot.

The scorers:

For Southland:
Tries: Ravai, Tuimavave
Cons: Hawera, Tuimavave
Pens: Hawera 5

For Hawke’s Bay:
Tries: Weber, Dixon, Garland, Emerson, Lamborn, West
Cons: West 4, Falcon
Pen: West

Southland: 15 Junior Ngaluafe, 14 Tauasosi Tuimavave, 13 Kieran Moffat, 12 Dylan Collier, 11 Jaye Thompson-Te Muunu, 10 Wharenui Hawera, 9 Jimmy Cowan, 8 Mika Mafi, 7 Phil Halder, 6 Bill Fukofuka, 5 Matt Philip, 4 Mike McKee, 3 Guy Millar, 2 Brayden Mitchell, 1 Joe Walsh
Replacements: 16 Jason Rutledge, 17 Peni Ravai, 18 Reuben Northover, 19 Michael Stewart, 20 Josh Clark, 21 Michael Dowsett, 22 James Schrader, 23 Mike Molloy

Hawke’s Bay: 15 Matt Garland, 14 Jonah Lowe, 13 Robbie Fruean, 12 Tiaan Falcon, 11 Mason Emerson, 10 Ihaia West, 9 Brad Weber, 8 Fa’alemiga Selesele, 7 Tony Lamborn, 6 Trent Boswell-Wakefield, 5 Mark Abbott, 4 Geoff Cridge, 3 Ben May, 2 Ash Dixon, 1 Ricky Riccitelli
Replacements: 16 Jorian Tangaere, 17 Jason Long, 18 Tolu Fahamokioa, 19 Ross Filipo, 20 Ben Hamelink, 21 Chris Eaton, 22 Billy Ropiha, 23 Ryan Tongia

Referee: Glen Jackson