Fiji win Dubai Sevens

Date published: December 5 2015

Defending champions Fiji got their bid to retain the Sevens World Series title off to the perfect start by winning the Dubai Sevens on Saturday.

Tom Bowen had given Simon Amor's side an early lead but Fiji turned on the style scoring four unanswered tries to give them only their second-ever Dubai title, and first since 2013, despite a late comeback from the 2010 and 2011 Dubai champions.

Ben Ryan tasted victory in Dubai for a fourth time in six years as he saw his side in scintilating form all day, beating New Zealand 19-5 with tries from Viliame Mata, Pio Tuwai and Jasa Veremalua in the semi-finals, and Australia 19-12 in their quarter-final with tries from Isake Kotanibau, captain Osea Kolinisau and Savenaca Rawaca.

The win puts Ben Ryan's side on top of the series standings with 22 points, ahead of England (19), USA (17) and New Zealand (15). South Africa won the Plate, France took the Bowl and the Shield went to Canada.

"It is an amazing feeling when you get to win a tournament, especially in Dubai in front of so many fans," said captain Kolinsau.

"There's a feeling of relief in the team.

"The game of sevens is getting harder. There are no easy games ahead and we are grateful to have won here.”

The USA, who made history on day one with their first-ever win over New Zealand, showed it wasn't fluke with a second win in as many matches against Sir Gordon Tietjens's side in the third place play-off.

Will Holder scored twice, and tries from Folau Niua, Kevin Swiryn and Perry Baker put the icing on the cake for Mike Friday.



Fiji 28-17 England

Third place play-off
New Zealand 12-31 USA 

Fiji 19-5 New Zealand
England 24-19 USA 

Fiji 19-12 Australia
New Zealand 24-21 Samoa
England 14-7 Argentina
South Africa 19-21 USA


Australia 14-19 South Africa 

Australia 28-10 Samoa 
Argentina 5-26 South Africa


France 24-14 Scotland

Kenya 7-33 France
Wales 14-17 Scotland

Japan 12-17 Kenya
France 38-5 Russia
Wales 24-14 Canada
Scotland 21-14 Portugal


Japan 17-19 Canada 

Japan 21-19 Russia
Canada 31-14 Portugal