Falcons get the better of Dragons

Date published: January 29 2017

Newcastle Falcons secured their first Anglo-Welsh Cup win of the season when they beat the Dragons 18-6 at Rodney Parade on Sunday.

The match was played in atrocious conditions and with the pitch unplayable, referee John Meredith eventually ended proceedings 12 minutes before full-time.

The Falcons, who are languishing at the bottom of the Pool Four table deserved their win as they held the upperhand for large periods and outscored their hosts by two tries to none.

The Dragons had the better of the early exchanges and opened the scoring as early as the ninth minute via a Tom Prydie penalty. Ten minutes later, the Falcons struck back when Scott Lawson scored the opening try from a line-out drive inside the home side's 22 and Sonatane Takulua's conversion meant the visitors led 7-3.

Prydie reduced the deficit to a point when he landed his second penalty in the 27th minute but the Falcons extended on the half-hour mark when Belisario Agulla scored their second try after gathering a perfectly-weighted skip pass from Joel Hodgson.

Takulua slotted a penalty in the 37th minute which meant the visitors led 15-6 at half-time and three minutes after the break he landed another three-pointer from the kicking tee which would be the last time points would be scored in this match.

The scorers:

For Dragons:
Prydie 2

For Newcastle Falcons:
Lawson, Agulla
Con: Takulua
Pens: Takulua 2

Dragons: 15 Carl Meyer, 14 Adam Hughes (c), 13 Tyler Morgan, 12 Adam Warren, 11 Tom Prydie, 10 Dorian Jones, 9 Sarel Pretorius, 8 Harri Keddie, 7 Nic Cudd, 6 Ollie Griffiths, 5 Rynard Landman, 4 Matthew Screech, 3 Brok Harris, 2 Rhys Buckley, 1 Thomas Davies
Replacements: 16 Thomas Rhys Thomas, 17 Sam Hobbs, 18 Lloyd Fairbrother, 19 James Thomas, 20 Robson Blake, 21 Charlie Davies, 22 Angus O’Brien, 23 Sam Beard

Newcastle Falcons: 15 Alex Tait, 14 Belisario Agulla, 13 Chris Harris, 12 Juan Pablo Socino, 11 Vereniki Goneva, 10 Joel Hodgson, 9 Sonatane Takulua, 8 Mark Wilson, 7 Will Welch (c), 6 Sean Robinson, 5 Evan Olmstead, 4 Calum Green, 3 Jon Welsh, 2 Scott Lawson, 1 Rob Vickers
Replacements: 16 Kyle Cooper, 17 Adam Brocklebank, 18 Andrew Foster, 19 Mouritz Botha, 20 Callum Chick, 21 Michael Young, 22 Craig Willis, 23 Dominic Waldouck

Referee: John Meredith (England)