EP Kings assemble new-look squad for Currie Cup

Date published: August 10 2016

After weeks of uncertainty over their Currie Cup participation, the EP Kings have finally announced a squad and captain for the domestic competition.

The EP Kings were given a last-minute lifeline which saved them from demotion to the first division. Due to the chaos surrounding their participation, the Kings had their original opening game against Griquas postponed. They will now kick-off their campaign against Boland in Port Elizabeth on Saturday.

Schalk Ferreira has been appointed captain, while Barend Pieterse, forward coach of the Southern Kings during Super Rugby, will take over as head coach from Deon Davids for the domestic season.

EP Kings squad: Schalk Ferreira (c), Justin Forwood, Caylib Oosthuizen, Barend Potgieter, Martin Bezuidenhout, Cullen Collopy, Mikey Willemse, Dolph Botha, Mzuvukile Sofisa, Tiny van Wyk, David Antoinites, Tazz Fuzani, Sebastian Ferreira, Cornell Hess, Henry Brandon Brown, Vincent Jobo, Christiaan de Bruin, Hendrik Grobbelaar, Jacques Fick, Ricky Schroeder, Pieter Steyn de Wet, Lungelo Goza, Kobus Marais, Sampie Mastriet, Minhele Mtwetwe, Burton Klaasen, Siphumelele Mstuwana, Waylon Murray, Johan Greyling, Alcino Izaacs, Siviwe Soyizwapi, Ganfried May, Johan Tromp