England Women hammer Ireland to complete Slam

Date published: March 18 2017

England Women produced a dominant second-half display to see off Ireland, clinching the Grand Slam with a 34-7 victory in Donnybrook.

The only points of the first half went to the visitors thanks to a try from winger Amy Wilson Hardy, unconverted by Emily Scarratt as England led 5-0 at the break.

But two tries in seven minutes then took the game away from Ireland, with replacement Laura Keates scoring first before Amy Cokayne joined her on the scoresheet either side of a Scarratt penalty.

Ireland in the meantime had lost Mairead Coyne to a yellow card and the game looked beyond them, having come into the fixture like England gunning for a Grand Slam.

But the hosts belatedly hit back thanks to a powerful score from hooker Leah Lyons to give Ireland hope.

Scarratt and Lydia Thompson however killed off any Irish hopes of a comeback with late tries to round off a resounding victory for England, who clinched the Grand Slam in the process to go with the Men's U20 success earlier in the day.

The scorers:

For Ireland:
Try: Lyons
Con: Tyrrell
Yellow Card: Coyne

For England:
Tries: Wilson Hardy, Keats, Cokayne, Scarratt, Thompson
Cons: Scarratt 3
Pen: Scarratt

Ireland: 15 Kim Flood, 14 Hannah Tyrrell, 13 Jenny Murphy, 12 Sene Naoupu, 11 Alison Miller, 10 Nora Stapleton, 9 Larissa Muldoon, 8 Paula Fitzpatrick (c), 7 Claire Molloy, 6 Ciara Griffin, 5 Marie Louise Reilly, 4 Sophie Spence, 3 Ailis Egan, 2 Leah Lyons, 1 Lindsay Peat
Replacements: 16 Ciara O’Connor, 17 Ilse van Staden, 18 Ruth O’Reilly, 19 Ciara Cooney, 20 Nichola Fryday, 21 Mary Healy, 22 Nikki Caughey, 23 Mairead Coyne

England: 15 Danielle Waterman, 14 Amy Wilson Hardy, 13 Emily Scarratt, 12 Amber Reed, 11 Kay Wilson, 10 Emily Scott, 9 La Toya Mason, 8 Sarah Hunter (c), 7 Marlie Packer, 6 Alex Matthews, 5 Harriet Millar-Mills, 4 Tamara Taylor, 3 Justine Lucas, 2 Amy Cokayne, 1 Rochelle Clark
Replacements: 16 Vicky Fleetwood, 17 Vickii Cornborough, 18 Laura Keates, 19 Poppy Cleall, 20 Izzy Noel-Smith, 21 Bianca Blackburn, 22 Rachael Burford, 23 Lydia Thompson

Referee: Alhambra Nievas (Spain)
Assistant Referees: Sean Gallagher (Ireland), Paul Haycock (Ireland)
TMO: Neil Patterson (Scotland)