England take Wellington Sevens title

Date published: February 3 2013

England beat Kenya 24-19 in sudden death extra-time to claim the New Zealand Sevens title in Wellington on Saturday.

England beat Kenya 24-19 in sudden death extra-time to claim the New Zealand Sevens title in Wellington on Saturday.

Kenya had led 19-12 but after they lost two players to the sin bin England were able to score two late tries through Christian Lewis-Pratt, to take the match to extra time, and then Sam Edgerley to win it.

It was just the final dramatic act in an extraordinary day in Wellington when Kenya earlier came from behind to beat New Zealand 19-14 in their semi-final.

Having trailed 14-0, Mike Friday's side scored two second-half tries to also take that match into extra time before Oscar Ouma scored the all-important try, his second of the match.

Ben Ryan's side booked their place in the final beating Samoa 21-19 in the first semi-final.

Trailing 12-0, Christian Lewis-Pratt (twice) and Marcus Watson gave them a 21-12 lead which proved enough despite Lio Lolo's effort.

The hosts New Zealand are the only side to have made all four Cup quarter finals this season and booked their place in the semi final by beating neighbours Australia 24-5 thanks to two tries from Gillies Kaka.

In what was arguably the most entertaining quarter final, Kenya defeated African rivals South Africa 21-20.

Having trailed 15-7 and 20-14, Willy Ambaka scorched away to score his second try of the match to snatch a 21-20 victory for Mike Friday's side with four missed conversions proving decisive for South Africa.

In the first Cup quarter final Ben Ryan's beat the Auld Enemy 31-7 thanks to two tries from both Watson and Dan Norton, while the islanders defeated Argentina by the same score.

It is the first Cup competition Ben Ryan's side have competed in this season, having missed out in the first three rounds


Michael O'Connor's Australia made it five wins from six by beating Scotland 22-7 to win the Plate.

Their only defeat came at the hands of New Zealand, before two Shannon Walker tries and 13 points from Lewis Holland secured their place in the final and ended a disappointing weekend for Paul Treu's side who managed just one victory.

Scotland bounced back from the earlier defeat to England and continued their impressive form at the Hertz Sevens, beating Argentina 35-5 to book their place in the Plate final.


Canada beat Fiji 28-19 in the Bowl final, winning all three of their matches on day two thanks to two tries from Taylor Paris.

Fiji will be disappointed with their tournament having failed to reach the Cup quarter finals for the first time in the history of the World Series.

Sean Duke scored twice in Canada's 31-7 victory against Spain to reach the Bowl final, having earlier beaten Tonga 28-5 thanks to tries from Nathan Hirayama, Tyler Ardron, Duke and Conor Trainor. Geraint John's side will meet Fiji after they came from 17-7 behind to beat France 19-17.

Julien Candelon took his tournament try tally to nine but Benito Masilevu scored the decisive try with the last play.

Competing in their first ever Bowl competition in the history of the World Series, five different players scored tries for Fiji in their 29-12 quarter final victory against the USA.

Spain defeated Portugal in the first match of day one in an all-Iberian encounter.

Locked at 19-19 in an enthralling match, Pedro Martin chipped and re-gathered then raced the length of the pitch to score his second try of the match and give Spain a dramatic victory.

France beat Wales 33-12 thanks to a hat-trick from Candelon.


The reigning RWC Sevens champions Wales ended a disappointing weekend, beating Tonga 26-21 to claim the Shield.

Paul John's side had trailed 21-0, but had enough left in the tank to beat the only non-core side competing in Wellington, as Lee Williams scored the all-important fourth try.

Tonga outplayed Portugal in the first Shield semi final 17-7 with tries to Tevita Halaifonua, Titali Mau, Saia Palei while in the other semi Wales held out a fast finishing USA 17-15 with Will Thomas, Luke Morgan and Rhys Shellard crossing for five-pointers.


Final: England 24-19 Kenya
Third place play-off: New Zealand 17-7 Samoa
Plate final: Australia 22-7
Bowl final: Canada 28-19 Fiji
Shield final: Wales 26-21 Tonga

Cup semi-finals: New Zealand 14-19 Kenya, England 21-19
Plate semi-finals: Australia 28-12 South Africa, Scotland 35-5 Argentina
Bowl semi-finals: Fiji 19-17 France, Spain 7-31 Canada
Shield semi-finals: United States 15-17 Wales, Portugal 7-17 Tonga

Quarter finals:
Kenya 21-20 South Africa
Australia 5-24 New Zealand
Samoa 31-7 Argentina
England 31-7 Scotland

Bowl quarter finals:
France 33-12 Wales
Fiji 29-12 United States
Canada 28-5 Tonga
Spain 26-19 Portugal

With thanks to the IRB