England confirm squad for New Zealand

Date published: May 26 2014

England have announced two squads for the four-match tour of New Zealand next month and the game against the Barbarians.

England have announced squads for the four-match tour of New Zealand next month and the game against the Barbarians.

Thirty players will fly to Auckland on Tuesday, May 27, and be available for the 1st Test at Eden Park on Saturday, June 7.

A further group will leave on Monday, June 2 following the Aviva Premiership final between Saracens and Northampton Saints (May 31) and the England XV v Barbarians match at Twickenham Stadium (June 1). These players will be named on the morning of Monday, June 2 (BST) following an assessment of both games.

“We are excited about the squad we are taking to New Zealand and, while there continues to be challenges in selection, we will be well and truly ready for the 1st Test,” said England head coach Stuart Lancaster.

“It has a been good few days training and great to be able to work with a larger group of players in the lead up to the Barbarians game and the tour.

“With the Barbarians game and the Aviva Premiership final to come we will make our final selection once we know the availability of all players. This group will fly out on the Monday following the Barbarians game.

“As is often the case there are some players unavailable through injury and it is a shame that recently both George Ford (Bath) and Anthony Allen (Leicester Tigers) have had to withdraw due to shoulder and knee injuries sustained towards the end of the season

“Anthony Watson (Bath) is being treated for a hamstring injury and will continue his recovery in England before a final decision is made on whether he will join us in New Zealand on the Monday flight post-Aviva final and Barbarians game.”

England squad flying to New Zealand on May 27 (arrive May 29)

Prop: Joe Marler (Harlequins), Matt Mullan (London Wasps), Kieran Brookes (Newcastle Falcons), Henry Thomas (Sale Sharks), David Wilson (Bath)

Hooker: Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs), Joe Gray (Harlequins), Dave Ward (Harlequins), Rob Webber (Bath)

Locks: Dave Attwood (Bath), Joe Launchbury (London Wasps), Geoff Parling (Leicester Tigers), Ed Slater (Leicester Tigers)

Back Row: James Haskell (London Wasps), Tom Johnson (Exeter Chiefs), Matt Kvesic (Gloucester), Ben Morgan (Gloucester), Chris Robshaw (Harlequins)

Scrum-halves: Danny Care (Harlequins), Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers)

Fly-halves: Freddie Burns (Gloucester), Danny Cipriani (Sale Sharks)

Centres: Kyle Eastmond (Bath), Manusamoa Tuilagi (Leicester Tigers), Henry Trinder (Gloucester), Billy Twelvetrees (Gloucester)

Back-three: Mike Brown (Harlequins), Jonny May (Gloucester), Chris Pennell (Worcester Warriors), Marland Yarde (London Irish)

England squad for Barbarians game:

Prop: Nathan Catt (Bath), Ross Harrison (Sale Sharks), Will Collier (Harlequins), Kyle Sinckler (Harlequins)

Hooker: Rob Buchanan (Harlequins), Tommy Taylor (Sale Sharks)

Locks: Graham Kitchener (Leicester Tigers), Charlie Matthews (Harlequins), Michael Paterson (Sale Sharks)

Back Row: Dave Ewers (Exeter Chiefs), James Gaskell (Sale Sharks), Jamie Gibson (Leicester Tigers), Luke Wallace (Harlequins)

Scrum-halves: Dan Robson (Gloucester), Joe Simpson (London Wasps)

Fly-half: Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs)

Centres: Ollie Devoto (Bath), Sam Hill (Exeter Chiefs), Jonathan Joseph (Bath)

Back-three: Elliot Daly (London Wasps), Rob Miller (Sale Sharks), Semesa Rokoduguni (Bath), Charlie Sharples (Gloucester Rugby)

England New Zealand tour:

Saturday, June 7: 1st Test – Eden Park, Auckland
Saturday, June 14: 2nd Test – Forsyth Barr Stadium, Dunedin
Tuesday, June 17: Crusaders – AMI (Addington) Stadium, Christchurch
Saturday, June 21: 3rd Test – Waikato Stadium, Hamilton

England XV v Barbarians

Sunday, June 1: Twickenham Stadium