Dragons get maximum at Treviso

Date published: March 28 2015

The Dragons fended off a spirited second-half showing from Treviso to win 32-17 with a try bonus-point at Stadio Monigo in the PRO12 on Saturday.

The Dragons started quickly and raced into the lead after Jonny Evans' sniping score, converted by Tom Prydie.

The winger added a penalty before Hallam Amos sprinted over from long range, with Prydie's conversion making it 17-0 at the break.

The visitors were the first to strike in the second half, with Prydie adding another penalty, and at 20-0, the game looked over as a contest.

Treviso fought back though, and got on the scoreboard through centre Enrico Bacchin. Jayden Hayward converted the Italian international's try, before a powerful scrum set up a penalty try.

The Italians were back to within six points with just over 20 minutes to go, and that deficit was halved when Hayward slotted a first penalty of the afternoon.

However the Dragons killed off the comeback with eight minutes to go as Prydie crossed, and he even completed a double in the final minutes to secure the try-bonus point and seal a first win in Treviso since 2007.

The scorers:

For Treviso:
Tries: Bacchin, Penalty try, Acosta
Con: Hayward 2
Pen: Hayward

For Dragons:
Tries: Evans, Amos, Prydie 2
Con: Prydie 3
Pen: Prydie 2

Treviso: 15 Jayden Hayward, 14 Simone Ragusi, 13 Michele Campagnaro, 12 Enrico Bacchin, 11 Ludovico Nitoglia, 10 Sam Christie, 9 Alberto Lucchese, 8 Mat Luamanu, 7 Francesco Minto, 6 Marco Barbini, 5 Corniel Van Zyl, 4 Antonio Pavanello (c), 3 Rupert Harden, 2 Davide Giazzon, 1 Matteo Zanusso.
Replacements: 16 Albert Anae, 17 Romulo Acosta, 18 Matteo Muccignat, 19 Marco Fuser, 20 Meyer Swanepoel, 21 Dean Budd, 22 Andrea Pratichetti, 23 Edoardo Gori.

Dragons: 15 Jason Tovey, 14 Tom Prydie, 13 Pat Leach, 12 Jack Dixon, 11 Hallam Amos, 10 Dorian Jones, 9 Jonathan Evans, 8 Nick Crosswell, 7 James Benjamin, 6 James Thomas, 5 Cory Hill, 4 Andrew Coombs, 3 Brok Harris, 2 T. Rhys Thomas (c), 1 Boris Stankovich.
Replacements: 16 Hugh Gustafson, 17 Phil Price, 18 Dan Way, 19 Taulupe Faletau, 20 Ollie Griffiths, 21 Luc Jones, 22 Tyler Morgan, 23 Carl Meyer.

Referee: Ian Davies (Wales)
Assistant referees: Giuseppe Vivarini (Italy), Cladio Blessano (Italy)
Television match official: Carlo Damasco (Italy)