Diack debuts in O'Connell's 100th

Date published: June 5 2014

Ireland coach Joe Schmidt has named his side for their opening Test against Argentina in Resistencia, with Robbie Diack debuting.

Ireland coach Joe Schmidt has named his side for the opening Test against Argentina in Resistencia on Saturday, with Robbie Diack making his debut.

Diack will start at blindside flanker having played for Emerging Ireland in last year's Tbilisi Cup and also for the Wolfhounds against the Saxons.

There are two further uncapped players on the bench as Connacht scrum-half Kieran Marmion and prop Rodney Ah You hope to make their bow.

The front-row will see prop Jack McGrath win his ninth cap – and second start – alongside hooker Rory Best and tighthead prop Mike Ross.

Captain Paul O'Connell is partnered at lock by the 22-year-old Iain Henderson, who is the youngest member of the squad alongside Marmion.

It will be O'Connell's 100th Test match – 93 appearances for Ireland and seven with the British and Irish Lions. He is the fourth Irishman to play in 100 international games after Brian O'Driscoll (141), Ronan O'Gara (130) and John Hayes (107).

The back-row is made up of Ulster team-mates Diack and Chris Henry with Leinster's Jordi Murphy, who is making his first start at this level, wearing the number eight jersey.

Conor Murray and Jonathan Sexton start at half-back with Luke Marshall and Darren Cave in the centre while the back-three is Simon Zebo, Andrew Trimble and full-back Felix Jones.

Ireland: 15 Felix Jones, 14 Andrew Trimble, 13 Darren Cave, 12 Luke Marshall, 11 Simon Zebo, 10 Jonathan Sexton, 9 Conor Murray, 8 Jordi Murphy, 7 Chris Henry, 6 Robbie Diack, 5 Paul O'Connell (capt), 4 Iain Henderson, 3 Mike Ross, 2 Rory Best, 1 Jack McGrath.
Replacements: 16 Damien Varley, 17 Dave Kilcoyne, 18 Rodney Ah You, 19 Devin Toner, 20 Jamie Heaslip, 21 Kieran Marmion, 22 Ian Madigan, 23 Fergus McFadden.

Date: Saturday, June 7
Kick-off: 15:40 local (19:40 BST, 18:40 GMT)
Venue: Estadio Centenario, Resistencia, Chaco
Referee: Glen Jackson (New Zealand)
Assistant referees: Mike Fraser (New Zealand), Jaco van Heerden (South Africa)
Television match official: Shaun Veldsman (South Africa)
Assessor: Clayton Thomas (Wales)