Deysel leads depleted Sharks

Date published: April 24 2013

The Sharks have named a side depleted by injuries for their Super Rugby clash with the Chiefs at Waikato Stadium on Saturday.

The Sharks have named a starting XV decimated by injuries for their away fixture with the Chiefs on Saturday.

Missing the likes of Paul Jordaan, Bismarck du Plessis, Tendai Mtawarira, Jacques Botes, Lwazi Mvovo and Louis Ludik, coach John Plumtree has opted to make wholesale changes to his side.

Francois Steyn starts at outside centre while Charl McLeod and Piet Lindeque get a run at number nine and on the left wing respectively.

The back-row is Lubabalo Mtembu, Jean Deysel and Derick Minnie, with powerful flanker Deysel captaining the Durban outfit this weekend.

Up front Craig Burden gets a run at hooker and packs down alongside Jannie du Plessis and Wiehahn Herbst while Kyle Cooper, Franco van der Merwe, Keegan Daniel, Marcell Coetzee and Cobus Reinach must make do with bench spots.

Sharks: 15 Riaan Viljoen, 14 Odwa Ndungane, 13 Francois Steyn, 12 Meyer Bosman, 11 Piet Lindeque, 10 Patrick Lambie, 9 Charl McLeod, 8 Lubabalo Mtembu, 7 Jean Deysel (capt), 6 Derick Minnie, 5 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 4 Anton Bresler, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Craig Burden, 1 Wiehahn Herbst.
Replacements: 16 Kyle Cooper, 17 Danie Mienie, 18 Franco van der Merwe, 19 Keegan Daniel, 20 Marcell Coetzee, 21 Cobus Reinach, 22 S'bura Sithole.

Date: Saturday, April 27
Kick-off: 19:35 local (08:35 BST, 07:35 GMT)
Venue: Waikato Stadium
Referee: Chris Pollock (New Zealand)
Assistant referees: Glen Jackson (New Zealand), Shane McDermott (New Zealand)
Television match official: Glenn Newman (New Zealand)