Derby joy for Racing 92

Date published: October 23 2015

Racing 92 claimed the bragging rights in the Paris derby as they got the better of Stade Français, winning 27-18 at the Stade Yves du Manoir on Friday.

It was hardly a classic in Colombes but the hosts won't care too much about that as they picked up their fifth win out of six so far this term.

This win moves them two points behind Top 14 pace-setters Clermont, who face Montpellier away on Saturday. Stade Français remain tenth.

A try inside two minutes from hooker Camille Chat set Racing on their way nicely and with Maxime Machenaud's conversion it was 7-0.

But Jules Plisson responded for the visitors with three points, but then missed a simple effort on 14 minutes so the gap remained at four.

Johan Goosen would then slot a long-range goal but when Sékou Macalou spotted space on the fringe of a ruck to score a try that was converted, suddenly Stade Français were level at ten apiece and it was very much game on.

Fortunately for Racing 92, Machenaud found his kicking boots and knocked over a penalty before half-time to send his side in 13-10 up.

The second half was a poor spectacle but one moment of brilliance stood out as a lovely cross-field kick from centre Henry Chavancy found wing Marc Andreu, who scored in the corner to make it a 27-13 ball game in Colombes.

And that was enough of a buffer for Racing to claim the win, as despite a late unconverted try from replacement Clément Daguin, Stade Français were well beaten on the night as the champions suffered their fourth loss of the campaign.

The scorers:

For Racing 92:
Tries: Chat, Andreu
Con: Machenaud
Pens: Machenaud 2, Goosen 3

For Stade Français:
Tries: Macalou, Daguin
Con: Plisson
Pens: Plisson 2

Racing 92: 15 Johan Goosen, 14 Joe Rokocoko, 13 Casey Laulala, 12 Henry Chavancy, 11 Marc Andreu, 10 Benjamin Dambielle, 9 Maxime Machenaud, 8 Antonie Claassen, 7 Thibault Dubarry, 6 Chris Masoe, 5 Francois van der Merwe, 4 Luke Charteris, 3 Cedate Gomes Sa, 2 Camille Chat, 1 Julien Brugnaut.
Replacements: 16 Virgile Lacombe, 17 Davit Khinchagashvili, 18 Juandré Kruger, 19 Luc Barba, 20 Xavier Chauveau, 21 Etienne Dussartre, 22 Louis Dupichot, 23 Ben Tameifuna.

Stade Français: 15 Hugo Bonneval, 14 Julien Arias, 13 Geoffrey Doumayrou, 12 Meyer Bosman, 11 Djibril Camara, 10 Jules Plisson, 9 Julien Tomas, 8 Jono Ross, 7 Sékou Macalou, 6 Antoine Burban, 5 Alexandre Flanquart, 4 Hugh Pyle, 3 Paul Alo Emile, 2 Rémi Bonfils, 1 Heinke van der Merwe.
Replacements: 16 Laurent Sempéré, 17 Zurabi Zhvania, 18 Gerhard Mostert, 19 TBC, 20 Clément Daguin, 21 Jonathan Danty, 22 Patrick Sio, 23 Adrien Oléon.

Referee: Mathieu Raynal