Daniel adds bite to Sharks

Date published: March 14 2013

The return of Sharks flank Keegan Daniel is one of three changes made by coach John Plumtree ahead of their tie with the Brumbies.

The return of Sharks flank Keegan Daniel is one of three changes made by coach John Plumtree ahead of Saturday's clash with the Brumbies.

Daniel returns to the side having been out of action since the first warm-up match of the season against the Leopards. Jacques Botes, who was initially diagnosed with a cracked wrist, will provide cover from the bench.

“We discovered that Jacques has had it (the cracked wrist) for a long time and was a previous injury,” said Plumtree.

“It just shows that the older you get, the tougher you get.

“It's not a new injury but he's alright and that's good news for the team.”

Plumtree has made two other changes in the backline, with scrum-half Carl McLeod and experienced outside back Odwa Ndungane getting their first starts of the season ahead of Cobus Reinach and Lwazi Mvovo respectively.

“Charl McLeod hasn't had an opportunity, he's been really looking forward to having one and I think it's a good time to re-introduce him. He'll be looking forward to a good game,” said Plumtree.

“It's the same with Odwa Ndungane, he hadn't started a game yet so we wanted to give him an opportunity at some point, it's a big game this week.”

Although this is the first time the Sharks show any changes in three weeks, Plumtree is still confident that the side is very settled and balanced.

“We've had some enforced changes and a couple of rotational changes amongst the backs, we have a good squad and both those backs deserve a start, it's up to them to take the opportunity,” the coached concluded.

Sharks: 15 Louis Ludik, 14 Odwa Ndungane, 13 Paul Jordaan, 12 Francois Steyn, 11 JP Pietersen, 10 Patrick Lambie, 9 Charl McLeod, 8 Ryan Kankowski, 7 Keegan Daniel (c), 6 Marcell Coetzee, 5 Franco van der Merwe, 4 Anton Bresler, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Craig Burden, 1 Tendai Mtawarira.
Replacements: 16 Kyle Cooper, 17 Wiehahn Herbst, 18 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 19 Jacques Botes, 20 Cobus Reinach, 21 Meyer Bosman, 22 Lwazi Mvovo.

Date: Saturday, March 16
Venue: Kings Park, Durban
Kick-off: 17.05 (15.05 GMT)
Referee: Jonathan Kaplan (South Africa)
Assistant referees: Quinton Immelman (South Africa), Reuben Rossouw (South Africa)
TMO: Deon van Blommestein (South Africa)