Counties fall to Bay of Plenty

Date published: September 6 2015

Bay of Plenty ended up on top in a high-scoring contest with Counties Manukau in the ITM Cup on Sunday, winning 37-26.

The visitors raced away into a 27-5 half-time lead before Counties responded to set up a tense finish.

Bay of Plenty full-back Chase Tiatia was the first to score after being set up by Maritino Nemani, with Shahn Eru following him over three minutes later to put the visitors up 14-0 after 15 minutes.

Sione Fifita hit back for Counties after good work from Jordan Taufua before Te Aihe Toma snuck over to make it 19-5. 

A bonus point try from replacement back Te Rangi Fraser and a Dan Hollinshead penalty meant the away side were well ahead at 27-5 by half-time.

Bay of Plenty lost lock Johan Bardoul to the sin-bin after a shoulder charge and Counties responded by scoring through Richard Judd.

A try from Whaimotu Craft-Chemis however gave Bay of Plenty a clear lead at 37-12, with Counties trying to chase them down as Judd grabbed a second score before Sikeli Nabou made sure they at least came away with a try bonus point.

The scorers:

For Counties:
Tries: Fifita, Judd 2, Nabou
Cons: Page 3

For Bay of Plenty:

Tries: Tiatia, Eru, Toma, Fraser, Craft-Chemis

Cons: Hollinshead 3

Cons: Hollinshead 2

Yellow Card: Bardoul

Counties Manukau: 15 Jared Page, 14 Ngataua Hukatai, 13 Sam Vaka, 12 Cardiff Vaega, 11 Sione Fifita, 10 Nathan de Thierry, 9 Kane Hancy, 8 Ma’ama Vaipulu, 7 Jordan Taufua, 6 Jimmy Tupou, 5 Mike Lawrenson, 4 Viliame Rarasea, 3 Jarrod Firth, 2 Gafatasi Su’a, 1 Pauliasi Manu
Replacements: 16 Sione Anga’aelangi, 17 Sean Bagshaw, 18 Sam Aiono, 19 Sikeli Nabou, 20 Sam Henwood,21 Richard Judd, 22 Willie Walker, 23 Jonathan Fa’auli

Bay of Plenty: 15 Chase Tiatia, 14 Whaimotu Craft-Chemis, 13 Maritino Nemani, 12 Caleb Hall, 11 Elijah Nicholas, 10 Dan Hollinshead, 9 Te Aihe Toma, 8 Carl Axtens, 7 Zak Hohneck, 6 Shahn Eru, 5 Culum Retallick, 4 Johan Bardoul, 3 Pingi Tala’apitaga, 2 Nathan Harris, 1 Solomona Sakalia
Replacements: 16 Sebastian Siataga, 17 Joe Royal, 18 Siegfried Fisi’ihoi, 19 Keepa Mewett, 20 Joe Tupe, 21 Jono Kitto, 22 Nick Evemy, 23 Te Rangi Fraser