Cory Allen shock inclusion for Wales

Date published: August 31 2015

Warren Gatland has named his squad of 31 for the World Cup, surprisingly including Cardiff Blues centre Cory Allen.

Sam Warburton will lead the side as they look to improve on their performance four years ago when they were knocked out in the semi-finals.

Injured duo Samson Lee – who tore his Achilles during the Six Nations in March –  and Liam Williams – who is recovering from a foot injury – are both included.

However, there is no place for Gareth Anscombe, who has been struggling with ankle ligament problems and was battling to be fit for the start of the tournament, but Alex Cuthbert has made it despite struggling for form this season.

Due to an injury to Alun Wyn Jones against Ireland, Gatland has gone for extra cover in the second row, with the inclusion of Dominic Day.

However there are only two hookers in the squad, while Ross Moriarty has also missed out to James King in the back row.

Matthew Morgan is also included for his x-factor, taking advantage of the injury to Anscombe, however Tyler Morgan and Eli Walker are others to miss out in the backline, with Allen getting the nod as centre cover despite not featuring in either warm-up game against Ireland.

Wales squad for the World Cup:

Forwards: Tomas Francis, Paul James, Aaron Jarvis, Gethin Jenkins, Samson Lee, Scott Baldwin, Ken Owens, Jake Ball, Luke Charteris, Bradley Davies, Dominic Day, Alun Wyn Jones, Taulupe Faletau, James King, Dan Lydiate, Justin Tipuric, Sam Warburton (c).

Backs: Gareth Davies, Rhys Webb, Lloyd Williams, Dan Biggar, Rhys Priestland, Cory Allen, Jamie Roberts, Scott Williams, Hallam Amos, Alex Cuthbert, Leigh Halfpenny, Matthew Morgan, George North, Liam Williams.