Connacht try shouldn’t have stood

Date published: December 18 2016

EPCR has issued a statement saying that Connacht’s late try against Wasps at the Sportsground should not have stood under the current laws.

Back-row Naulia Dawai crossed in the closing stages of the 20-18 victory on Saturday which denied Wasps the chance to move clear in Pool 2.

Following the game, EPCR revealed: “The assistant referee, who had taken over as match referee following an injury to Jerome Garces, awarded a penalty to Connacht after time had elapsed. Connacht kicked the ball into touch and from the resultant line-out, scored a converted try to win the game 20-18.

“However, as time had elapsed, Connacht should not have been permitted to take a line-out throw-in once the ball had been kicked into touch as stipulated in Law 5.7 (e) of World Rugby’s Laws of the Game.

“EPCR would like to thank all parties for their understanding and would also like to confirm that the result of the Pool 2 match stands.”

COMMENTS