Clermont solidify top spot

Date published: October 9 2016

Clermont edged out Toulouse 29-25 at home to go four points clear at the top of the Top 14 standings on Sunday.

This was a good win for the home side especially if you consider they twice had a player sent off with a yellow card. Thomas Domingo's sin-bin followed six minutes after Fritz Lee was sent off which means Clermont were down to 13 men for four minutes during which time their lead was cut down to 32-22 midway through the second half.

Arthur Iturria scored the first try of the game in the fifth minute before Morgan Parra added the conversion and a penalty for a 13-5 lead after 30 minutes, Toulouse having responded with a try of their own through Census Johnston.

Remy Lamerat and Joe Tekori exchanged tries in the final four minutes of the second half to give Clermont a 20-12 half-time lead.

Parra and Samuel Marques exchanged penalties after the break before Toulouse were awarded a penalty try during the time Clermont were reduced to 13 men. The conversion by Marques took the visitors to within a point of the hosts before Parra gave his team some breathing space with a 57th minute penalty. 

Toulouse again came within a point of Clermont when Fritz slotted a penalty in the 71st minute but Parra secured the victory for Clermont six minutes later for a tight 29-25 victory.

The scorers:

For Clermont 
Tries: Iturria, Lamerat
Cons: Parra 2
Pens: Parra 5
Yellow Cards: Lee, Domingo

For Toulouse 
Tries: Johnston, Tekori, Penalty try
Cons: Marques 2
Pens: Marques, Fritz
Yellow Card: Kunatani

Clermont: 15 Nick Abendanon, 14 David Strettle, 13 Remi Lamerat, 12 Wesley Fofana, 11 Noa Nakaitaci, 10 Camille Lopez, 9 Morgan Parra, 8 Fritz Lee, 7 Judicael Cancoriet, 6 Damien Chouly, 5 Sebastien Vahaamahina, 4 Arthur Iturria, 3 Davit Zirakashvili, 2 Nathan Charles, 1 Etienne Falgoux
Replacements: 16 Benjamin Kayser, 17 Thomas Domingo, 18 Paul Jedrasiak, 19 Camille Gerondeau, 20 Ludovic Radosavljevic, 21 Patricio Fernandez, 22 Isaia Toeava, 23 Clement Ric

Toulouse: 15 Luke McAlister 14 Semi Kunatani, 13 Florian Fritz, 12 Yann David, 11 Alexis Palisson, 10 Jean Marc Doussain, 9 Samuel Marques, 8 Carl Axtens, 7 Talalelei Gray, 6 François Cros, 5 Joe Tekori, 4 Gregory Lamboley, 3 Census Johnston, 2 Christopher Tolofua, 1 Cyril Baille
Replacements: 16 Leonardo Ghiraldini, 17 Vasil Kakovin, 18 Edwin Maka, 19 Gillian Galan, 20 Piula Faasalele, 21 Arthur Bonneval, 22 Toby Flood, 23 Maks van Dyk

Referee: Romain Poite