Clermont fight back to upset Toulouse

Date published: January 10 2010

Clermont moved top of the Top 14 standings on Sunday after they recorded a come-from-behind 16-15 victory over Toulouse.

Clermont moved top of the Top 14 table on Sunday after they recorded a come-from-behind 16-15 win over Toulouse at Stade Ernest-Wallon.

The visitors were trailing 15-9 at the break in southern France but rallied on the hour with a try from fly-half Tasesa Lavea seeing them edge it.

Toulouse had started the contest on the front foot and took an eleventh-minute lead when South African number eight Shaun Sowerby crossed before Jean-Baptiste Elissalde dropped a goal.

And when the lethal Vincent Clerc went over for another five points with just over a quarter gone, it looked like the Auvergians were struggling to keep pace.

However, the boot of Seremai Bai and then Lavea's converted score silenced the crowd in a result that moves Clermont above Castres who suffered a shock 15-0 defeat to Montpellier.

The scorers:

For Toulouse:
Tries: Sowerby, Clerc
Con: Elissalde
Drop: Elissalde

For Clermont:
Tries: Lavea
Con: Parra
Pen: Bai 2
Drop: Bai

Toulouse: 15 Clement Poitrenaud, 14 Vincent Clerc, 13 Yann David, 12 Yannick Jauzion, 11 Yves Donguy, 10 Jean-Baptiste Elissalde, 9 Fred Michalak, 8 Louis Picamoles, 7 Shaun Sowerby, 6 Jean Bouilhou (capt), 5 Romain Millo-Chluski, 4 Patricio Albacete, 3 Census Johnstone, 2 William Servat, 1 Daan Human.
Replacements: 16 Virgile Lacombe, 17 Benoit Lecouls, 18 Yoann Maestri, 19 Gregory Lamboley, 20 Byron Kelleher, 21 Florian Fritz, 22 Cedric Heymans, 23 Jean-Baptiste Poux.

Clermont: 15 Benoit Baby, 14 Brent Russell, 13 Gavin Williams, 12 Seremai Bai, 11 Napolina Nalaga, 10 Tasesa Lavea, 9 Kevin Senio, 8 Alexandre Audebert, 7 Julien Bonnaire, 6 Alexandre Lapandry, 5 Loic Jacquet, 4 Julien Pierre, 3 Martin Scelzo, 2 Willie Wepener, 1 Lionel Faure.
Replacements: 16 Vincent Debaty, 17 Mario Ledesma, 18 Thibaut Privat, 19 Elvis Vermeulen, 20 Morgan Parra, 21 Gonzalo Canale, 22 Anthony Floch, 23 Clement Ric.

Referee: Jérôme Garces