Chiefs unchanged for final

Date published: August 1 2013

Chiefs coach Dave Rennie has retained the same starting XV for the Super Rugby final, but there is an injury cloud over Lelia Masaga.

Chiefs coach Dave Rennie has stuck with the side that beat the Crusaders for Saturday's Super Rugby final against the Brumbies

The only worry for the Chiefs is the fitness of winger Lelia Masaga who is carrying an ankle injury. Masaga is bracketed with Robbie Robinson but Rennie is confident that the flyer will be available for the clash. Should Robinson be elevated to the starting line-up, Patrick Osborne will come into the matchday 22.

“Lelia will need to come through tomorrow's session,” explained Rennie.

“He got through half a session today and then we ran Robbie there for the rest of it.

“So we'll make a decision on him over the next day or so, but anticipating it'll be the same starting line up as last week.”

Saturday will no doubt be an emotional evening, particularly as Craig Clarke, Lelia Masaga, Toby Smith, Richard Kahui and Brendon Leonard will all be leaving the franchise at the end of the campaign.

“They have all been a big part of the Chiefs family and we want to send these outstanding Chiefs men out on a high with back to back titles,” said Rennie.

The match will take place in front of a full house at the Waikato Stadium, and Rennie is looking forward to having home support.

“There has been an enormous amount of hard work to get us into this position and we are excited to be playing in front of the people who mean the most to us,” he said.

Chiefs: 15 Gareth Anscombe, 14 Lelia Masaga/Robbie Robinson, 13 Charlie Ngatai, 12 Andrew Horrell, 11 Asaeli Tikoirotuma, 10 Aaron Cruden, 9 Tawera Kerr-Barlow, 8 Matt Vant Leven, 7 Tanerau Latimer, 6 Liam Messam, 5 Brodie Retallick, 4 Craig Clarke, 3 Ben Tameifuna, 2 Hika Elliot, 1 Toby Smith.
Replacements: 16 Rhys Marshall, 17 Ben Afeaki, 18 Michael Fitzgerald, 19 Sam Cane, 20 Augustine Pulu, 21 Bundee Aki, 22 Robbie Robinson/Patrick Osborne.

Date: Saturday, August 3
Venue: Waikato Stadium, Hamilton
Kick-off: 19:35 (07:35 GMT)
Referee: Craig Joubert
Assistant referees: Chris Pollock, Garrat Williamson
TMO: Vinny Munro