Chiefs name their side to face Wales

Date published: June 12 2016

The Chiefs have named their matchday squad that will host Wales, for the first time, in a one-off match in Hamilton on Tuesday.

It will also be the first time 22-year-old loose forward Mitchell Brown will pull on the Chiefs jersey, starting at blindside flanker in his debut game alongside five of his Taranaki teammates. 

With eight of the Chiefs unavailable due to All Blacks commitments, remaining players have the opportunity to impress and push their case for selection as the business end of the Super Rugby season draws near.

In the forwards, Mitchell Graham, Rhys Marshall and Hiroshi Yamashita will pack down in the front row. Experienced locks Dominic Bird and Michael Allardice partner in the second row, with Brown, Lachlan Boshier and Tom Sanders forming the loose forward trio. 

Scrum-half Brad Weber will partner with captain and veteran Stephen Donald getting his first start in 2016 at fly-half. 

The experience of Andrew Horrell will be put to good use in the mid-field alongside Anton Lienert-Brown who will slot in at outside centre. The back trio consists of Sam Vaka and Toni Pulu on the wings, with James Lowe adding an exciting edge at full-back.

Chiefs: 15 James Lowe, 14 Toni Pulu, 13 Anton Lienert-Brown, 12 Andrew Horrell, 11 Sam Vaka, 10 Stephen Donald (c), 9 Brad Weber, 8 Tom Sanders, 7 Lachlan Boshier, 6 Mitchell Brown, 5 Michael Allardice, 4 Dominic Bird, 3 Hiroshi Yamashita, 2 Rhys Marshall, 1 Mitchell Graham
Replacements: 16 Hika Elliot, 17 Siegfried Fisi’ihoi, 18 Atu Moli, 19 Taleni Seu, 20 Tevita Koloamatangi, 21 Kayne Hammington, 22 Sam McNicol, 23 Latu Vaeno

Date: Tuesday, June 14
Venue: FMG Stadium, Hamilton
Kick-off: 18:35 local (08:35 GMT)