Chiefs make three changes

Date published: July 28 2016

Chiefs head coach Dave Rennie has made three changes to his starting XV for Saturday's Super Rugby semi-final against the Hurricanes, 8/15 with BetBright, in Wellington.

The formidable forward pack remains the same with Kane Hames, Nathan Harris and Atu Moli packing down together in the front row. 

Dominic Bird and Brodie Retallick continue their dominant second row partnership, with Taleni Seu, Tom Sanders and Sam Cane forming a hard-working loose forward trio.

In the backs, experienced All Black Tawera Kerr-Barlow will start at scrum-half this week, with support from Aaron Cruden at fly-half.

Anton Lienert-Brown moves to inside centre, with the explosive Seta Tamanivalu returning from injury to start in the number 13 jersey. 

The exciting trio of James Lowe, Sam McNicol and Damian McKenzie complete the back-line. Of note in the reserves is the return of workhorse Michael Leitch who has been sidelined since May after dislocating his thumb against the Rebels.

Chiefs: 15 Damian McKenzie, 14 Sam McNicol, 13 Seta Tamanivalu, 12 Anton Lienert-Brown, 11 James Lowe, 10 Aaron Cruden (cc), 9 Tawera Kerr-Barlow, 8 Tom Sanders, 7 Sam Cane (cc), 6 Taleni Seu, 5 Brodie Retallick, 4 Dominic Bird, 3 Atu Moli, 2 Nathan Harris, 1 Kane Hames 
Replacements: 16 Hika Elliot, 17 Siegfried Fisi’ihoi, 18 Mitchell Graham, 19 Lachlan Boshier, 20 Michael Leitch, 21 Brad Weber, 22 Toni Pulu, 23 Shaun Stevenson

Date: Saturday, July 30
Venue: Westpac Stadium, Wellington
Kick-off: 19:35 local (07:35 GMT)
Referee: Angus Gardner
Assistant Referees: Glen Jackson, Paul Williams
TMO: Ben Skeen