Chiefs change a few

Date published: May 1 2013

The Chiefs have named their team to face the Rebels in Melbourne on Friday, with prop Ben Tameifuna one of several changes to the XV.

The Chiefs have revealed their team that will face the Rebels in Melbourne on Friday, with Ben Tameifuna one of several changes to the starting XV.

Tameifuna and Pauliasi Manu will start as the props with Michael Kainga ruled out with a shoulder injury. Sam Cane is in the line-up, with Matt Vant Leven getting his first start this season in the number eight jersey.

Brendon Leonard starts at half-back while Augustine Pulu moving to the bench. Bundee Aki comes in to replace Richard Kahui, who is carrying a shoulder injury, while the back trio of Tim Nanai-Williams, Lelia Masaga and Gareth Anscombe remains the same.

Up front, hooker Hika Elliot comes onto the bench and is joined by prop Toby Smith, flanker Tanerau Latimer and winger Patrick Osborne.

Chiefs: 15 Gareth Anscombe, 14 Lelia Masaga, 13 Tim Nanai-Williams, 12 Bundee Aki, 11 Asaeli Tikoirotuma, 10 Aaron Cruden, 9 Brendon Leonard, 8 Matt Vant Leven, 7 Sam Cane, 6 Liam Messam, 5 Brodie Retallick, 4 Craig Clarke (c), 3 Ben Tameifuna, 2 Mahonri Schwalger, 1 Pauliasi Manu.
Replacements: 16 Hika Elliot, 17 Toby Smith, 18 Michael Fitzgerald, 19 Tanerau Latimer, 20 Augustine Pulu, 21 Robbie Robinson, 22 Patrick Osborne.

Date: Friday, May 3
Kick-off: 19:40 local (10:40 BST, 09:40 GMT)
Venue: AAMI Park, Melbourne
Referee: Garratt Williamson (New Zealand)
Assistant referees: Ian Smith (Australia), Richard Goswell (Australia)
Television match official: Steve Leszczynski (Australia)