Cheetahs put faith in Zeilinga

Date published: February 24 2016

The Cheetahs have named their team for their opening Super Rugby encounter with the Jaguares, with Fred Zeilinga at fly-half.

The pivot featured for the Sharks in 2015 but is one of the few that has opted to relocate to Bloemfontein.

Force import Sias Ebersohn misses out on the matchday squad, with Niel Marais on the bench as replacement number ten.

Zeilinga will be looking to ignite the exciting backline, which includes flyer Raymond Rhule and the fleet-footed Sergeal Petersen.

Meanwhile, Francios Venter will skipper the team from outside centre while Springbok lock Lood de Jager is vice captain.

Cheetahs: 15 Clayton Blommetjies, 14 Sergeal Petersen, 13 Francois Venter (c), 12 William Small-Smith, 11 Raymond Rhule, 10 Fred Zeilinga, 9 Shaun Venter, 8 Niell Jordaan, 7 Uzair Cassiem, 6 Boom Prinsloo, 5 Lood de Jager, 4 Carl Wegner, 3 Maks van Dyk, 2 Torsten van Jaarsveld, 1 Charles Marais
Replacements: 16 Jacques du Toit, 17 Ox Nche, 18 Luan de Bruin, 19 Reniel Hugo, 20 Henco Venter, 21 Paul Schoeman, 22 Tian Meyer, 23 Niel Marais

Date: Friday, February 26
Venue: Toyota Stadium, Bloemfontein
Kick-off: 19:00 local (17:00 GMT)
Referee: Stuart Berry (South Africa)
Assistant Referees: Rasta Rasivhenge (South Africa), Lourens van der Merwe (South Africa)
TMO: Johan Greeff (South Africa)