Cheetahs named for Lions opener

Date published: February 23 2017

The Cheetahs have named their side to face the Lions in their Super Rugby opener in Bloemfontein, with Clinton Swart starting at centre.

Swart starts due to Francois Venter being ruled out due to injury and he is joined in midfield by Nico Lee, with Fred Zeilinga at fly-half.

Franco Smith opts for Raymond Rhule, Sergeal Petersen and Clayton Blommetjies as his back three while up front Torsten van Jaarsveld will lead the XV, with Uzair Cassiem, Oupa Mohojo and Paul Schoeman the starting back-row and Justin Basson and Reniel Hugo the second-row.

Cheetahs: 15 Clayton Blommetjies, 14 Sergeal Petersen, 13 Nico Lee, 12 Clinton Swart, 11 Raymond Rhule, 10 Fred Zeilinga, 9 Tian Meyer, 8 Paul Schoeman, 7 Oupa Mohoje, 6 Uzair Cassiem, 5 Reniel Hugo, 4 Justin Basson, 3 Johan Coetzee, 2 Torsten van Jaarsveld (c), 1 Charles Marais
Replacements: 16 Elandre Huggett, 17 Danie Mienie, 18 Ox Nche, 19 Francois Uys, 20 Niell Jordaan, 21 Zee Mkhabela, 22 Niel Marais, 23 Ryno Benjamin

Date: Saturday, February 25
Venue: Free State Stadium, Bloemfontein
Kick-off: 15:05 local (13:05 GMT)
Referee: Quinton Immelman (South Africa)
Assistant Referees: Rasta Rasivhenge (South Africa), Lourens van der Merwe (South Africa)
TMO: Shaun Veldsman (South Africa)