Cheetahs duo doubtful to face Blues

Date published: July 3 2013

The Cheetahs will give Hennie Daniller and Coenie Oosthuizen until Friday to prove their fitness for Saturday's clash with the Blues.

The Cheetahs will give full-back Hennie Daniller and prop Coenie Oosthuizen until Friday to prove their fitness for Saturday's clash with the Blues in Bloemfontein.

Cheetahs boss Naka Drotske announced an unchanged side but indicated both Daniller and Oosthuizen's inclusion was pending results of fitness tests undertaken the day before the game.

Daniller injured his knee in the captain's run last week ahead the Cheetahs game against the Stormers and was still doubtful for the all important clash against the New Zealand based side.

The same goes for Oosthuizen, who got a knock on the knee in the Cheetahs 28-3 drubbing against the Cape Town-based outfit.

The hosts need five points against the Blues if they are to be sure of a place in the knock out stages and therefore it is understandable that Drotske will give his stalwarts as much time as possible to prove their availability.

Should Daniller not be eligible, Springbok full-back Willie le Roux will again move to full-back from wing.

If Oosthuizen does not make the cut, he will be replaced by another Springbok in the form of Trevor Nyakane.

But Drotske would hope for a speedy recovery for the burly prop, especially after the Cheetahs were trounced by the Stormers in the scrums.

“Our scrums are one facet that we've worked on really hard this week,” said Cheetahs captain and Springbok hooker Adriaan Strauss.

“We made a couple of early engages against the Stormers and that took away our momentum.

“We have to be at our best against the Blues.”

Cheetahs: 15 Hennie Daniller, 14 Willie le Roux, 13 Johann Sadie, 12 Robert Ebersohn, 11 Raymond Rhule, 10 Riaan Smit, 9 Piet van Zyl, 8 Philip van der Walt, 7 Lappies Labuschagne, 6 Heinrich Brussow, 5 Ligtoring Landman, 4 Lood de Jager, 3 Lourens Adriaanse, 2 Adriaan Strauss (captain), 1 Coenie Oosthuizen.
Replacements: 16 Ryno Barnes, 17 Trevor Nyakane, 18 Waltie Vermeulen, 19 Boom Prinsloo, 20 Sarel Pretorius, 21 Elgar Watts, 22 Rayno Benjamin.

Date: Saturday, July 6
Venue: Free State Stadium, Bloemfontein
Kick-off: 14.50 (12.50 GMT)
Referee: Lourens van der Merwe (South Africa)
Assistant referees: Ben Crouse (South Africa), Francois de Bruin (South Africa)
TMO: Gerrie Coetzee (South Africa (South Africa)