Charteris to lead Wales against Chiefs

Date published: June 12 2016

Luke Charteris will captain Wales when they face Super Rugby side, the Chiefs, on Tuesday in Hamilton. 

The 66-time cap second-row will lead his country for the first time at FMG Stadium as Wales face their second match.

Wales will line-up with an experienced test front row with Rob Evans, Scott Baldwin and Tomas Francis, who all featured in every game of this year's Six Nations campaign, packing down together. 

Jake Ball partners captain Charteris as the lock duo. Ellis Jenkins, who made his International debut at Eden Park on Saturday, starts at openside flanker alongside Josh Turnbull and number eight James King.

Gareth Davies and Rhys Priestland are named at half-back with Scott Williams partnering Tyler Morgan in the midfield.

Matthew Morgan is named at full-back alongside wings, Eli Walker and Tom James.

"Tuesday is a huge opportunity for these players, they have trained hard and are ready to get game time under their belts," Warren Gatland said.

"Coming all the way to New Zealand, it was important we had a big enough squad for the three tests but also to provide game time for the players on tour and this match gives the players a chance to stake their claim for the final two tests aganist the All Blacks.

"We were hosted fantastically well by the people of Waikato in the 2011 RWC, so it's great to be back and to give something back to the region.

"The Chiefs are without a number of their All Blacks but still boost a strong side and from my playing days I know they will be right up for the fixture against a touring nation."

Kristian Dacey, Aaron Jarvis and Rhodri Jones provide the front-row cover on the bench with Bradley Davies and Ross Moriarty completing the forward contingent. Aled Davies, Gareth Anscombe and Rhys Patchell provide cover for the backs.

Wales: 15 Matthew Morgan, 14 Eli Walker, 13 Tyler Morgan, 12 Scott Williams, 11 Tom James, 10 Rhys Priestland, 9 Gareth Davies, 8 James King, 7 Ellis Jenkins, 6 Josh Turnbull, 5 Luke Charteris, 4 Jake Ball, 3 Tomas Francis, 2 Scott Baldwin, 1 Rob Evans
Replacements: 16 Kristian Dacey, 17 Aaron Jarvis, 18 Rhodri Jones, 19 Bradley Davies, 20 Ross Moriarty, 21 Aled Davies, 22 Gareth Anscombe, 23 Rhys Patchell

Date: Tuesday, June 14
Venue: FMG Stadium, Hamilton
Kick-off: 18:35 local (08:35 GMT)