Challenge Cup wrap: Sale beat Biarritz

Date published: January 18 2014

Saturday's three Challenge Cup games saw wins for London Irish, Worcester and Sale, securing the latter's place in the last eight.

Saturday's three games in the Amlin Challenge Cup saw wins for London Irish, Worcester and Sale, securing the latter's place in the last eight.


I Cavalieri Prato 0-49 London Irish
Worcester 20-13 Oyonnax
Biarritz 7-9 Sale Sharks

I Cavalieri Prato 0-49 London Irish
Stadio Enrico Chersoni

Stade Français had already secured top spot in Pool 5, leaving London Irish with nothing to play for, but they still ran in seven tries against Italian opponents Cavalieri Prato.

Blair Cowan grabbed two of Irish's seven tries in an easy victory, although their European season is now over.

The scorers:

For Irish:
Tries: Parr, Danaher, Fenby, Cowans 2, Evans, Lewington
Cons: Geraghty 4, Dorrian 3

I Cavalieri Prato: 15 Marco Ferrini, 14 Niccolò Tempestini, 13 Clemens Von Grumbkov, 12 Ivan Crestini, 11 Alessandro Lunardi, 10 Toby Browne, 9 Pino Patelli (c), 8 Giacomo Bernini, 7 Alberto Saccardo, 6 Alfonso Damiani, 5 Ale Devodier, 4 Filippo Gerosa, 3 Victor Coria Marchetti, 2 Lorenzo Giovanchelli, 1 Cherif Traore.
Replacements: 16 Andrea Lupetti, 17 Nicolas De Gregori, 18 Otis Lombardi, 19 Diego Delnevo, 20 Leonardo Della Ratta, 21 Jacopo Zucconi, 22 Gabriele Cicchinelli, 23 Rudy Biancotti.

London Irish: 15 Tom Homer, 14 Alex Lewington, 13 Guy Armitage, 12 Eamonn Sheridan, 11 Andrew Fenby, 10 Shane Geraghty (c), 9 Tomas O'Leary, 8 Blair Cowan, 7 Kieran Low, 6 Declan Danaher, 5 Nick Rouse, 4 Bryn Evans, 3 Leo Halavatau, 2 Jimmy Stevens, 1 Matt Parr.
Replacements: 16 Michael Mayhew, 17 Johnny Harris, 18 Jamie Hagan, 19 Jebb Sinclair, 20 Tom Smallbone, 21 Topsy Ojo, 22 Myles Dorrian, 23 Ed Hoadley.

Referee: Cédric Marchat (France)
Assistant referees: Sébastien Clouté (France), Thomas Dejean (France)

Worcester 20-13 Oyonnax
Sixways Stadium

Worcester sealed a much-needed win over a weakened Oyonnax side thanks to a Penalty Try and a score from Max Stelling. Warriors fly-half Ignacio Mieres kicked ten points.

The victory incredibly was only Worcester's second of the season in all competitions.

The scorers:

For Worcester:
Tries: Penalty, Stelling
Cons: Mieres 2
Pens: Mieres 2

For Oyonnax:
Tries: Tebani, Bousquet
Pen: Bousquet
Yellow Card: Du Preez

Worcester: 15 Ben Howard, 14 Josh Drauniniu, 13 Ravai Fatiaki, 12 Josh Matavesi, 11 Josh Watkins, 10 Ignacio Mieres, 9 Jonny Arr, 8 Leonardo Senatore, 7 Sam Betty, 6 Chris Jones, 5 Mike Williams, 4 Dean Schofield (c), 3 John Andress, 2 Edd Shervington, 1 George Porter.
Replacements: 16 Nick Seymour, 17 Paul Andrew, 18 Rob O'Donnell, 19 James Percival, 20 Richard DeCarpentier, 21 Paul Hodgson, 22 Dean Hammond, 23 Max Stelling.

Oyonnax: 15 Jonathan Bousquet, 14 Dug Codjo, 13 Guillaume Bousses, 12 Roimata Hansell Pune, 11 Tikiko Koroivoutu, 10 Nicolas Vuillemin, 9 Johann Authier, 8 Chad Slade, 7 Scott Newlands, 6 Mahamadou Diaby, 5 Damien Lagrange, 4 Miroslav Nemecek (c), 3 Ruaan Du Preez, 2 Neil Clark, 1 Erwan Iapteff.
Replacements: 16 Salim Tebani, 17 Lukas Rapant, 18 Marc Clerc, 19 Joe El Abd, 20 Augustin Figuerola, 21 Silvere Tian, 22 Florian Denos, 23 Thibault Lassale.

Referee: Giuseppe Vivarini (Italy)
Assistant referees: Claudio Blessano (Italy), Andrea Spadoni (Italy)

Biarritz 7-9 Sale Sharks
Parc des Sports Aguiléra

Sale took top spot in Pool 1 ahead of Biarritz as a late Rob Miller penalty saw them win.

BO had taken the lead in the 18th minute thanks to a try from Taku Ngwenya, converted by Julien Peyrelongue, but Miller's two penalties cut it to 6-7 to the hosts at the interval.

No points were scored in the second-half until two minutes from time when full-back Miller slotted the match-winning three points to send the Sharks back to England delighted.

The scorers:

For Biarritz:
Try: Ngwenya
Con: Peyrelongue

For Sale:
Pen: Miller 3

Biarritz: 15 Joe Pietersen, 14 Taku Ngwenya, 13 Charles Gimenez, 12 Seremaia Burotu, 11 Teddy Thomas, 10 Julien Peyrelongue, 9 Yann Lesgourgues, 8 Imanol Harinordoquy (c), 7 Magnus Lund, 6 Benoit Guyot, 5 Josh Furno, 4 Erik Lund, 3 Ben Broster, 2 Jean-Philippe Genevois, 1 Fabien Barcella.
Replacements: 16 Arnaud Heguy, 17 Thomas Synaeghel, 18 Francisco Gomez Kodela, 19 Mathias Marie, 20 Alban Placines, 21 Dimitri Yachvili, 22 Geoffrey Sella, 23 Paul Couet-Lannes.

Sale Sharks: 15 Rob Miller, 14 Tom Brady, 13 Johnny Leota, 12 Sam Tuitupou, 11 Mark Cueto, 10 Nick MacLeod, 9 Dwayne Peel, 8 James Gaskell, 7 David Seymour, 6 Dan Braid (c), 5 Michael Paterson, 4 Andrei Ostrikov, 3 Vadim Cobilas, 2 Tommy Taylor, 1 Ross Harrison.
Replacements: 16 Marc Jones, 17 Eifion Lewis-Roberts, 18 Henry Thomas, 19 Jon Mills, 20 Mark Easter, 21 Will Cliff, 22 Danny Cipriani, 23 Andy Forsyth.

Referee: Marius Mitrea (Italy)
Assistant referees: Stefano Pennè (Italy), Elia Rizzo (Italy)
Television match official: Alan Falzone (Italy)