Challenge Cup wrap: Ospreys thump Grenoble

Date published: December 9 2016

Ospreys continued to cruise in their Challenge Cup pool as they stuffed Grenoble 59-7 while Lyon thumped Newcastle 42-12 and Treviso won 28-15 at Bayonne.

Grenoble 7-59 Ospreys

Ospreys made it three bonus-point victories out of three in the Challenge Cup pool stage as they saw off Grenoble at Stade des Alpes.

They got off and running early with tries from centre Kieron Fonotia and hooker Sam Parry, the latter via a well-worked driving maul.

Despite the hosts hitting back on 24 minutes when centre Clement Gelin crossed the line, Ospreys captain Alun Wyn Jones’ try made it 21-7 soon after before centre Josh Matavesi went over to get the bonus-point before the break, with Dan Biggar kicking his fourth conversion.

Ospreys scored their fifth try of the game on 49 minutes when wing Daf Howells crossed, but for the first time Biggar missed his extras.

Howells was over for a brace soon after as the procession continued in France with Biggar this time converting as the score was 40-7.

Young wing Keelan Giles was the Ospreys’ seventh scorer on 65 minutes and then added his second and his team’s eighth late on, with Biggar scoring a ninth in a comprehensive victory for Steve Tandy’s charges.

The scorers:

For Grenoble:
Try: Gelin
Con: Bosch

For Ospreys:
Tries: Fonotia, Parry, AW Jones, Matavesi, Howells 2, Giles 2, Biggar
Cons: Biggar 7

Grenoble: 15 Armand Batlle 14 Pierre Mignot, 13 Clement Gelin, 12 Nigel Hunt, 11 Tino Nemani, 10 Gilles Bosch, 9 David Mele, 8 Dylan Hayes, 7 Steven Setephano, 6 Kevin Kornath, 5 Mathias Marie, 4 Mickael Capelli, 3 Walter Desmaison, 2 Etienne Fourcade, 1 Alexandre Dardet
Replacements: 16 Loick Jammes, 17 Denis Coulson, 18 Dayna Edwards, 19 Thomas Jolmes, 20 Henry Vanderglas, 21 Lilian Saseras, 22 Fabrice Estebanez, 23 Bastien Guillemin

Ospreys: 15 Daniel Evans, 14 Keelan Giles, 13 Kieron Fonotia, 12 Josh Matavesi, 11 Daf Howells, 10 Dan Biggar, 9 Thomas Habberfield, 8 Dan Baker, 7 Justin Tipuric, 6 James King, 5 Alun Wyn Jones, 4 Rory Thornton, 3 Dmitri Arhip, 2 Sam Parry, 1 Paul James
Replacements: 16 Scott Otten, 17 Nicky Smith, 18 Rhodri Jones, 19 Lloyd Ashley, 20 Sam Underhill, 21 Rob McCusker, 22 Brendon Leonard, 23 Sam Davies

Referee: Marius Mitrea (Italy)
Assistant Referees: Matteo Liperini (Italy), Simone Boaretto (Italy)
TMO: Stefano Pennè (Italy)

Lyon 42-12 Newcastle

Lyon picked up a vital bonus-point victory over Newcastle at Matmut Stadium that keeps them in touch with pool leaders the Ospreys.

They recovered well following Dan Temm’s early score for Newcastle, with prop Sami Mavinga crossing on 12 minutes to make it 7-5.

Further tries from outside centre Paul Bonnefond and lock Felix Lambey in the 27th and 34th minute gave Lyon a firm grip on the game at 21-5, which was how the scoreline stayed going into the changing room. The Falcons knew they needed to improve if they were fight back.

Newcastle got that perfect start to the half they were looking for when replacement Rob Vickers crossed on 46 minutes to make it 21-12.

But from then on it was one-way traffic in France as another two tries from Bonnefond and then one from replacement Augustin Figuerola saw Lyon come out on top, staying five points behind the Ospreys in the pool.

The scorers:

For Lyon:
Tries: Mavinga, Bonnefond 3, Lambey, Figuerola
Cons: Porical 6

For Newcastle:
Tries: Temm, Vickers
Con: Connon

Lyon: 15 Jerome Porical, 14 Franck Romanet, 13 Paul Bonnefond, 12 Thibaut Regard, 11 Henry Clunies-Ross, 10 Romain Loursac, 9 Baptiste Couilloud, 8 Curtis Browning, 7 Dylan Cretin, 6 Deon Fourie, 5 Maselino Paulino, 4 Felix Lambey, 3 BJ Botha, 2 Ti’i Paulo, 1 Sami Mavinga
Replacements: 16 Cameron Mapusua, 17 Hamza Kaabèche, 18 David Attoub, 19 Simon Christian Njewel, 20 Didier Tison, 21 Pierre-Louis Barassi, 22 Jacques Louis Potgieter, 23 Augustin Figuerola

Newcastle Falcons: 15 Tom Catterick, 14 Alex Tait, 13 Dominic Waldouck, 12 Fred Burdon (c), 11 Zach Kibirige, 10 Brett Connon, 9 Sam Egerton, 8 Harrison Orr, 7 Daniel Temm, 6 Glen Young, 5 Nick Civetta, 4 Mouritz Botha, 3 David Wilson, 2 Ben Sowrey, 1 Alex Rogers
Replacements: 16 David Nelson, 17 Rob Vickers, 18 Andrew Foster, 19 Marcus Watson, 20 Mark Wilson, 21 Joel Hodgson, 22 Dan Marshall, 23 Mike Delany

Referee: David Wilkinson (Ireland)
Assistant Referees: Frank Murphy (Ireland), Paul Haycock (Ireland)

Bayonne 15-28 Treviso

Treviso claimed their first Challenge Cup win of the season in the battle between Pool 1’s basement boys at Stade Jean-Dauger on Friday.

Both teams had lost their opening two games so this was a chance to get off the mark and it was the Italians who wanted it more in France.

The boot of fly-half Tommaso Allan got Treviso going before full-back David Odiete crossed the whitewash in the 24th minute. And with only one penalty from Bayonne fly-half Lucas Meret to further strikes from Allan, Treviso led 16-3 at the interval and were looking comfortable.

Luca Bigi and Alberto Sgarbi crossed before the 50 minute mark as Treviso’s lead grew, meaning that Benjamin Thiery’s try was nothing more than consolation for Bayonne who are now rock bottom in this pool.

The scorers:

For Bayonne:
Tries: Oulai, Thiery
Con: Meret
Pen: Meret

For Treviso:
Tries: Odiete, Bigi, Sgarbi
Cons: Allan 2
Pens: Allan 3

Bayonne: 15 Benjamin Thiery, 14 Ryan Tongia, 13 Bastien Fuster, 12 Thibault Lacroix, 11 Julien Tisseron, 10 Lucas Meret, 9 Bastien Duhalde, 8 Jean-Blaise Lespinasse, 7 Dion Evrard Oulai, 6 Arnaud Duputs, 5 Adam Jaulhac, 4 Guillaume Ducat, 3 Toma Taufa, 2 David Menage, 1 Jérôme Schuster
Replacements: 16 Aretz Iguiniz, 17 Davit Khinchagishvili, 18 Ben Broster, 19 Pelu Ian Taele, 20 Guillaume Rouet, 21 Maka Polutele, 22 Raphael Lagarde, 23 Maile Mamao

Treviso: 15 David Odiete, 14 Andrea Pratichetti, 13 Luca Morisi, 12 Alberto Sgarbi (c), 11 Luca Sperandio, 10 Tommaso Allan, 9 Edoardo Gori, 8 Marco Barbini, 7 Abraham Steyn, 6 Marco Lazzaroni, 5 Dean Budd, 4 Marco Fuser, 3 Matteo Zanusso, 2 Luca Bigi, 1 Nicola Quaglio
Replacements: 16 Davide Giazzon, 17 Alberto De Marchi, 18 Tiziano Pasquali, 19 Simone Ferrari, 20 Roberto Santamaria, 21 Tito Tebaldi, 22 Ian McKinley, 23 Angelo Esposito

Referee: Tom Foley (England)
Assistant Referees: Christopher Ridley (England), Clare Daniels (England)