Challenge Cup wrap: Glos cruise

Date published: January 23 2015

Gloucester made it six wins from a possible six as they cruised past Brive 31-20 to wrap up the top seed in the Challenge Cup group stages.

The Cherry & Whites scored four tries to secure a maximum five points, and they finish with 29 out of 30.

Elsewhere Oyonnax comfortably saw off Zebre 20-3 to keep their faint quarter-final hopes alive, but only just after they missed out on a bonus point.

Brive 20-31 Gloucester

Matt Kvesic’s double ensured that Gloucester would finish as the top seeds in the Challenge Cup pool stages as they overcame Brive.

Two Riaan Swanepoel penalties, to one from James Hook, had given Brive an early 6-3 lead.

However two tries in five minutes, from Kvesic and Dan Robson put Gloucester on their way to the win.

James Hook converted both tries to make it 17-6 at the break, with Brive down a man after Pat Barnard’s sin-binning.

Early in the second half, Gloucester winger David Halaifona followed Barnard into the sin-bin, as did Brive prop Karlen Asieshvili.

With both sides down to 14, Brive conceded a penalty try, which Hook converted.

Brive responded with a penalty score of their own, trailing 24-13, with Gloucester down a man after Hook picked up a yellow card.

Kvesic’s second try ended any hopes of a comeback, and sealed the bonus point, but there was still time for a late Brive score, from hooker Louis Acquier to finish the scoring.

The scorers:

For Brive:
Tries: Penalty, Acquier
Cons: Swanepoel, Bezy
Pens: Swanepoel 2
Yellow Cards: Barnard, Asieshvili

For Gloucester:
Tries: Kvesic 2, Robson, Penalty
Cons: Hook 4
Pens: Hook
Yellow Cards: Halaifona, Hook

The teams:

Gloucester: 15 James Hook, 14 David Halaifonua, 13 Mark Atkinson, 12 Billy Twelvetrees (c), 11 Henry Purdy, 10 Billy Burns, 9 Dan Robson, 8 Sione Kalamafoni, 7 Matt Kvesic, 6 Tom Savage, 5 Tom Palmer, 4 Elliott Stooke, 3 John Afoa, 2 Darren Dawidiuk, 1 Yann Thomas.
Replacements: 16 Aleki Lutui, 17 Dan Murphy, 18 Shaun Knight, 19 James Hudson, 20 Ross Moriarty, 21 Callum Braley, 22 Bill Meakes, 23 Shane Monahan.

Brive: 15 Romain Sola, 14 Venione Voretamaya, 13 Sevanaia Galala, 12 Riaan Swanepoel, 11 Guillaume Namy, 10 Nicolas B