Challenge Cup Wrap: Bath run riot

Date published: January 16 2014

Thursday's Challenge Cup action saw wins across Europe for Bath, Stade Français, Brive, Newcastle Falcons and the Dragons.

Thursday's Challenge Cup action saw victories across Europe for Bath, Stade Français, Brive, Newcastle Falcons and the Dragons.


Bath 54-13 Bordeaux-Bègles
Lusitanos 15-48 Stade Français
Brive 31-9 Calvisano
Newcastle 28-0 Bucuresti
Mogliano Rugby 12-24 Dragons

Bath 54-13 Bordeaux-Bègles
Recreation Ground

Bath finished with 28 points from a possible 30 in Pool 2 thanks to their eight-try win over Bordeaux-Bègles.

England squad member Anthony Watson produced a sparkling break in the opening minutes before finding Tom Biggs on his inside for Bath's first try.

George Ford then snuck over before Bristol-bound prop Anthony Perenise was no match for the Bordeaux-Bègles fly-half as he pirouetted over in the corner before half-time for a 21-6 lead.

Another England international, Jonathan Joseph, wrapped up the try bonus point in the 45th minute, bursting onto a flat pass from Ford after good work from the Bath pack, before limping off.

Dominic Day added a fifth score with Semesa Rokoduguni, returning from injury, strolling in for a sixth, before Kyle Eastmond wrestled his way over. Not to be outdone, Rokoduguni added another for good measure with time running out.

The scorers:

For Bath:
Tries: Biggs, Ford, Perenise, Joseph, Day, Rokoduguni 2, Eastmond
Cons: Ford 6, Banahan
Yellow Card: Caldwell

For Bordeaux-Bègles:
Try: Queheille
Con: Bernard
Pens: Saubusse 2

Bath: 15 Anthony Watson, 14 Semesa Rokoduguni, 13 Jonathan Joseph, 12 Kyle Eastmond, 11 Tom Biggs, 10 George Ford, 9 Micky Young, 8 Leroy Houston, 7 Francois Louw, 6 Matt Garvey, 5 Dominic Day, 4 Stuart Hooper (capt), 3 Anthony Perenise, 2 Rob Webber, 1 Paul James.
Replacements: 16 Ross Batty, 17 Nathan Catt, 18 Kane Palma Newport, 19 Ryan Caldwell, 20 Mathew Gilbert, 21 Peter Stringer, 22 Ollie Devoto, 23 Matt Banahan.

Bordeaux-Bègles: 15 Joaquim Tuculet, 14 Rafael Carballo, 13 Charles Brousse, 12 Jean-Baptiste Lamotte, 11 Robert Lilomaiava, 10 Romain Lonca, 9 Manu Saubusse, 8 Poutasi Luafutu, 7 Matthew Graham, 6 Gauthier Gibouin, 5 Adam Jaulhac, 4 Cameron Treloar (c), 3 Patrick Toetu, 2 Benat Auzqui, 1 Jefferson Poirot.
Replacements: 16 Clement Maynadier, 17 Laurent DelBoulbes, 18 Benjamin Sa, 19 Aliki Fakate, 20 Louis Madaule, 21 Gilem Queheille, 22 Pierre Bernard, 23 Thibault Lacroix.

Referee: Peter Fitzgibbon (Ireland)
Assistant referees: Stuart Gaffikin (Ireland), David Connolly (Ireland)
Television match official: Seamus Flannery (Ireland)

Lusitanos 15-48 Stade Français
Estadio Universitario de Lisbon

Stade Français made sure of top spot in Pool 5 ahead of London Irish thanks to their bonus point win over Portuguese opponents Lusitanos in Lisbon.

Stade though did have to work for their win initially and were held at 10-10 at half-time, before stepping on the gas at the beginning of the second half and finishing with seven tries.

The scorers:

For Lusitanos:
Tries: Bettencourt Avila, Miranda
Con: Penha e Costa
Pen: Penha e Costa

For Stade Français:
Tries: Vuidravuwalu, Porical, Zhvania, Penalty, Bonfils, Kingi, Burban
Cons: Porical 5
Pen: Porical
Yellow Card: Bonfils

Lusitanos: 15 Nuno Penha e Costa, 14 Gonçalo Foro, 13 Pedro Bettencourt Avila, 12 Joao Silva, 11 Duarte Moreira, 10 Diogo Miranda, 9 Francisco Pinto de Magalhães, 8 Vasco Uva (c), 7 Luis Marais, 6 Salvador Cunha, 5 Rui D'Orey, 4 Fernando Almeida, 3 Bruno Rocha, 2 Francisco Tavares, 1 Jorge Segurado.
Replacements: 16 João Correia, 17 Bruno Medeiros, 18 Francisco Domingues, 19 Antonio Salgueiro, 20 Vasco Fragoso Mendes, 21 Rodrigo Figueiredo, 22 Pedro Leal, 23 Francisco Appleton.

Stade Français: 15 Jerome Porical, 14 Adrea Cocagi, 13 Waisea Vuidarvuwalu, 12 Jonathan Danty, 11 Djibril Camara, 10 Vincent Mallet, 9 Richard Kingi, 8 David Lyons, 7 Nicolas Garrault, 6 Scott Lavalla, 5 Carl Wegner, 4 Anton van Zyl (c), 3 Davit Kubriashvili, 2 Michael Van Vuuren, 1 Zurabi Zhvania.
Replacements: 16 Remi Bonfils, 17 Romain Frou, 18 Zak Taulafo, 19 Alexandre Flanquart, 20 Antoine Burban, 21 Clement Daguin, 22 Peter Lydon, 23 Hugo Bonneval.

Referee: Vlad Iordescu (Romania)
Assistant referees: Robert Diaconescu (Romania), Ionut Bodea (Romania)

Brive 31-9 Calvisano
Stade Amédée-Domenech

Top 14 side Brive ran in five tries to secure a bonus point win over Italian visitors Calvisano, finishing top of Pool 3 with 23 points in the process.

The scorers:

For Brive:
Tries: Mafi, Hireche, Sanchou, Delage, Mailei
Cons: Sola 3
Yellow Card: Murphy

For Calvisano:
Pens: Violi 2
Yellow Cards: Cavalieri, Griffen

Brive: 15 Laurent Ferreres, 14 Alfifeleti Mafi, 13 Baptiste Delage, 12 Thomas Sanchou, 11 Sevanaia Galala, 10 Romain Sola, 9 Damien Neveu, 8 Kieran Murphy, 7 Hugues Briatte, 6 Said Hireche (c), 5 Apisai Naikatini, 4 Simon Pinet, 3 Kevin Buys, 2 Louis Acosta, 1 Damien Lavergne.
Replacements: 16 Francois Da Ros, 17 Goderzi Shvelidze, 18 Johannes Coetzee, 19 Victor Lebas, 20 Fabien Laurent, 21 Thomas Laranjeira, 22 Andrew Mailei, 23 Elia Radikedike.

Calvisano: 15 Ben De Jager, 14 Alberto Bergamo, 13 Andy Vilk, 12 Tommy Castello, 11 Michele Visentin, 10 Alberto Chiesa, 9 Marcello Violi, 8 Stefano Scanferla (c), 7 Jacopo Salvetti, 6 Nicola Belardo, 5 Luca Beccaris, 4 Agustin Cavalieri, 3 Lorenzo Romano, 2 Luigi Ferraro, 1 Luca Scarsini.
Replacements: 16 Andrea Gavazzi, 17 Sami Panico, 18 Elia Violi, 19 Michele Andreotti, 20 Maxime Mbanda, 21 Paul Griffen, 22 Pablo Canavosio, 23 Matteo Appiani.

Referee: Ian Tempest (England)
Assistant referees: Luke Pearce (England), Andy Watson (England)
Television match official: David Sainsbury (England)

Newcastle 28-0 Bucuresti
Kingston Park

Newcastle Falcons comfortably defeated Romanian visitors Bucuresti but only managed to score three tries, with Brive's easy win ending the Premiership side's participation in Europe for this season.

The scorers:

For Newcastle:
Tries: Shortland, Penalty, Catterick
Con: Clegg, Godman
Pens: Clegg 3

For Bucuresti:
Yellow Cards: Kinikinilau, Pristavita

Newcastle: 15 Noah Cato, 14 Tom Catterick, 13 Alex Crockett, 12 James Fitzpatrick, 11 Ryan Shortland, 10 Rory Clegg, 9 Chris Pilgrim, 8 Chris York (c), 7 Andy Saull, 6 Mark Wilson, 4 Fraser McKenzie, 3 Oliver Tomaszczyk, 2 George McGuigan, 1 Rob Vickers.
Replacements: 16 Scott Lawson, 17 James Hallam, 18 Scott Wilson, 19 Sean Tomes, 20 Will Welch, 21 Warren Fury, 22 Phil