Challenge Cup line-ups: Saturday

Date published: October 11 2013

Bath travel to Bordeaux-Begles while Worcester visit Oyonnax in a tricky weekend of fixtures for the travelling English teams.

Bath travel to Bordeaux-Begles while Worcester visit Oyonnax in a tricky weekend of fixtures for the travelling English teams in the Challenge Cup.

Viadana v London Wasps

Wasps boss Dai Young has made a number of changes to his starting side for this season's first European outing.

After five tough weeks of Premiership action, and with a five-day turnaround before the team plays again, Young has rotated a squad which will hope to kick start their Cup campaign positively in Italy.

Tongan international Will Helu makes his first competitive start on the wing for London Wasps, since arriving in recent months, while Tommy Bell starts at full-back. Ben Jacobs completes the centre partnership alongside captain Chris Bell and Joe Simpson returns to the fold after missing out in recent weeks through injury.

James Cannon replaces Joe Launchbury for this fixture to accompany Kearnan Myall in the second-row while a completely changed front-row will see Simon McIntyre and Will Taylor flank Tom Lindsay at hooker.

The teams:

Viadana: 15 Kaine Robertson, 14 Anthony Michael Fenner, 13 Gilberto Pavan, 12 Gabriel Pizarro, 11 Daniel Rudolf Yakopo, 10 Keanu John Apperley-Iti (capt), 9 Giorgio Bronzini, 8 Gonzalo Padro, 7 Andrea Barbieri, 6 Liviu Pascu, 5 Joubert Prinsloo Horn, 4 Ruahan Van Jaarsveld, 3 Riccardo Cagna , 2 Antonio Denti, 1 Giulio Cenedese.
Replacements: 16 Luca Bigi, 17 Luca Marchini, 18 Marco Coletti, 19 Matteo Minari, 20 Christoffell Johanne Du Plessis, 21 Pietro Travagli, 22 Juan Pablo Sanchez, 23 Nicola Sintich.

London Wasps: 15 Thomas Bell, 14 Christian Wade, 13 Ben Jacobs, 12 Chris Bell (capt), 11 William Helu, 10 Joe Carlisle, 9 Joe Simpson, 8 Nathan Hughes, 7 Guy Thompson, 6 Ed Jackson, 5 Kearnan Myall, 4 James Cannon, 3 William Taylor, 2 Tom Lindsay, 1 Simon McIntyre.
Replacements:16 Neil Cochrane, 17 Ricky Reeves, 18 Taione Vea, 19 Esteban Lozada, 20 Sam Jones, 21 Jack Winter-Moates, 22 Andy Goode, 23 Charlie Hayter.

Bucharest Wolves v Newcastle Falcons

Newcastle Falcons flyer Ryan Shortland starts for the first time this season.

The Kiwi winger, who returns from a hamstring injury, is one of ten changes to the side that defeated Worcester Warriors in the Aviva Premiership last weekend with academy products Sean Brown and Harrison Collins making their senior bow.

Brown starts on the wing, while Collins gets the nod at number eight as Falcons boss Dean Richards gives youth a chance to shine on the European stage.

Chris Pilgrim and Joel Hodgson form a new half-back combination with skipper Alex Crockett coming in at inside centre alongside Adam Powell.

The teams:

Bucharest Wolves: 15 Catalin Fercu, 14 Madalin Lemnaru, 13 Catalin Dascalu, 12 Paula Kinikinilau, 11 Stephan Hihetah, 10 Vali Calafeteanu, 9 Florin Surugiu, 8 Stelian Burcea (capt), 7 Viorel Lucaci, 6 Daniel Ianus, 5 Valentin Popirlan, 4 Johan Van Heerden, 3 Petru Tamba, 2 Eugen Capatana, 1 Constantin Pristavita.
Replacements: 16 Otar Turashvili, 17 Alexandru Tarus, 18 Vlad Badalicescu, 19 Andrei Bucurescu, 20 Adrian Ion, 21 Ciprian Caplescu, 22 Csaba Gal, 23 Florin Vlaicu.

Newcastle Falcons: 15 Tom Catterick, 14 Ryan Shortland, 13 Adam Powell, 12 Alex Crockett (capt), 11 Sean Brown, 10 Joel Hodgson, 9 Chris Pilgrim, 8 Harrison Collins, 7 Mark Wilson, 6 Chris York, 5 Sean Tomes, 4 Fraser McKenzie, 3 Oliver Tomaszczyk, 2 George McGuigan, 1 Rob Vickers.
Replacements: 16 Kieran Brookes, 17 Gary Strain, 18 Scott Wilson, 19 Dom Barrow, 20 James Fitzpatrick, 21 Warren Fury, 22 Rory Clegg, 23 Noah Cato.

Oyonnax v Worcester Warriors

Dean Hammond will make his first start for Warriors. The South African will line-up on the wing for the Sixways side as Director of Rugby Dean Ryan gives seven players their first starts of the season.

Paul Warwick is named at fly-half for his first competitive start in Warriors colours whilst fellow summer signing Cam Goodhue also makes the starting 15 for the first time.

Chris Brooker, who has recently returned to action following a long-term lay-off, is named at hooker.

There are also places for Alex Grove, Richard de Carpentier and Ben Howard whilst recent recruit Mariano Galarza could feature from the bench.

The teams:

Oyonnax: 15 Jonathan Bousquet, 14 Jonathan Traini, 13 Roimata Hansell Pune (capt), 12 Hemani Paea, 11 Tikiko Koroivoutu, 10 Conrad Barnard, 9 Fabien Cibray, 8 Chad Slade, 7 Scott Newlands, 6 Mahamadou Diaby, 5 Damien Lagrange, 4 Miroslav Nemecek, 3 Ruaan Du Preez, 2 Neil Clark, 1 Erwan Iapteff.
Replacements: 16 Jody Jenneker, 17 Lukas Rapant, 18 Marc Clerc, 19 Valentin Ursache, 20 Augustin Figuerola, 21 Nicolas Vuillemin, 22 Pierre Aguillon, 23 Damian Browne.

Worcester Warriors: 15 Ben Howard, 14 Dean Hammond, 13 Alex Grove, 12 Josh Matavesi, 11 David Lemi, 10 Paul Warwick, 9 Jeremy Su'a, 8 Cam Goodhue, 7 Jake Abbott, 6 Richard DeCarpentier, 5 Chris Jones, 4 Dean Schofield (capt), 3 John Andress, 2 Chris Brooker, 1 George Porter.
Replacements: 16 Edd Shervington, 17 Jérémy Becasseau, 18 Rob O'Donnell, 19 Mariano Galarza, 20 Jonathan Thomas, 21 Jonny Arr, 22 Ignacio Mieres, 23 Max Stelling.

Cammi Rugby Calvisano v Brive

Calvisano: 15 Ben De Jager, 14 Pablo Canavosio, 13 Andy Vilk, 12 Alberto Chiesa, 11 Michele Visentin, 10 Kelly Haimona, 9 Marcello Violi, 8 Braam Steyn, 7 Stefano Scanferla (capt), 6 Jacopo Salvetti, 5 Luca Beccaris, 4 Agustin Cavalieri, 3 Salvatore Costanzo, 2 sami panico, 1 Andrea Lovotti.
Replacements: 16 Luigi Ferraro, 17 Luca Scarsini, 18 Lorenzo Romano, 19 Michele Andreotti, 20 Paino Hehea, 21 Maxime Mbanda, 22 Paul Griffen, 23 Marco Susio.

Brive: 15 Laurent Ferreres, 14 Alfifeleti Mafi, 13 Sevanaia Galala, 12 Baptiste Delage, 11 Venione Voretamaya, 10 Thomas Laranjeira, 9 Damien Neveu, 8 Kieran Murphy, 7 Hugues Briatte, 6 Fabien Laurent, 5 Simon Pinet, 4 Tjiuee Uanivi, 3 Tamato Leupolu, 2 Francois Da Ros (capt), 1 Damien Lavergne.
Replacements: 16 Guillaume Ribes, 17 Johannes Coetzee, 18 Victor Laval, 19 Victor Lebas, 20 Lucas Lyons, 21 Romain Kusiolek, 22 Anderson Neisen, 23 Romain Sola.

Bordeaux-Begles v Bath Rugby

Fresh from his efforts with the Springboks in the Rugby Championship, openside flanker Francois Louw captains Bath in their opening Amlin Challenge Cup clash against Bordeaux-Bègles at Stade Chaban-Delmas.

In his first match for the club this season, Louw leads a team showing six changes to the side that started against Sale Sharks last weekend.

The teams:

Bordeaux-Begles: 15 Darly Domvo, 14 Rafael Carballo, 13 Felix Le Bourhis, 12 Charles Brousse, 11 Blair Connor, 10 Romain Lonca, 9 Manu Saubusse, 8 Tai Tuifua, 7 Poutasi Luafutu, 6 Gauthier Gibouin (capt), 5 Adam Jaulhac, 4 Cameron Treloar, 3 Silviu