Challenge Cup line-ups: Saturday

Date published: December 13 2013

Newcastle Falcons have made seven changes for this weekend's Amlin Challenge Cup trip to Cammi Rugby Calvisano.

Calvisano v Newcastle

Newcastle Falcons have made seven changes for this weekend's Amlin Challenge Cup trip to Cammi Rugby Calvisano.

Skipper Will Welch returns to the back-row in place of the injured Harrison Collins, while the in-form Richard Mayhew starts at number eight.

Promising tighthead Scott Wilson retains his position in the front-row alongside loosehead Rob Vickers and hooker Scott Wilson.

Meanwhile three new faces come into the backline with winger Alex Tait, centre Adam Powell and fly-half Rory Clegg pulling on the green and white European jersey.

“Italian sides at home are a different proposition to playing them in England,” said director of rugby Dean Richards.

“The Latin mentality is that they give it their all at home in front of their passionate support, and we should also remember they had a difficult journey to Newcastle with being caught up in the airport chaos at London last weekend.

“They will be a different side altogether over there and I would expect them to be far more competitive.”

Meanwhile, Calvisano start Marcello Violi in place of Simon Picone at scrum-half, with Stefano Scanferla in at openside flanker.

Tighthead prop Salvatore Costanzo – a replacement last weekend – captains the side.

The teams:

Calvisano: 15 Ben De Jager, 14 Pablo Canavosio, 13 Andy Vilk, 12 Tommy Castello, 11 Michele Visentin, 10 Kelly Haimona, 9 Marcello Violi, 8 Braam Steyn, 7 Stefano Scanferla, 6 Nicola Belardo, 5 Luca Beccaris, 4 Agustin Cavalieri, 3 Salvatore Costanzo (c), 2 Luigi Ferraro, 1 Andrea Lovotti.
Replacements: 16 Andrea Gavazzi, 17 Luca Scarsini, 18 Lorenzo Romano, 19 Paino Hehea, 20 Alessio Zdrilich, 21 Paul Griffen, 22 Alberto Chiesa, 23 Alberto Bergamo.

Newcastle Falcons: 15 Noah Cato, 14 Alex Tait, 13 Alex Crockett (c), 12 Adam Powell, 11 Zach Kibirige, 10 Phil Godman, 9 Warren Fury, 8 Richard Mayhew, 7 Andy Saull, 6 Will Welch (c), 5 Fraser McKenzie, 4 Sean Tomes, 3 Scott Wilson, 2 Scott Lawson, 1 Rob Vickers.
Replacements: 16 George McGuigan, 17 Grant Shiells, 18 Kieran Brookes, 19 Carlo del Fava, 20 James Fitzpatrick, 21 Chris Pilgrim, 22 Rory Clegg, 23 Ryan Shortland.

Date: Saturday 14th December
Venue: Peroni Stadium
Kick-off: 14:30 (local, 13:30 GMT)
Referee: Vlad Iordescu (Romania)
Assistant Referees: Cristian Raduta (Romania), Robert Diaconescu (Romania)
TMO: Jack Sheehan (Ireland)

Bath v Mogliano

Matt Banahan will make his 150th appearance tomorrow for Bath when he runs out in the Blue, Black and White against Rugby Mogliano.

The 26-year-old Jersey back, who joined Bath in 2006, will line up in the number 11 shirt.

Another potential milestone in the Bath squad is for Peter Stringer who, should he come off the bench, will make his 100th appearance in European competition.

Hat-trick hero from last weekend Richard Lane will start on the opposite wing to Banahan, with Anthony Watson at full-back and Kyle Eastmond and Ollie Devoto linking up in the centres.

George Ford returns to the number ten shirt and partners Martin Roberts in the half-backs.

Eusebio Guinazu and Juan Pablo Orlandi retain their places and are joined by Paul James in the front row, with captain Stuart Hooper combining with Dominic Day in the boiler room. Matt Garvey and Carl Fearns are selected on the flanks, as Leroy Houston completes the pack at number eight.

The teams:

Bath: 15 Anthony Watson, 14 Rich Lane, 13 Ollie Devoto, 12 Kyle Eastmond, 11 Matt Banahan, 10 George Ford, 9 Martin Roberts, 8 Leroy Houston, 7 Carl Fearns, 6 Matt Garvey, 5 Matt Garvey, 4 Stuart Hooper (c), 3 Juan Pablo Orlandi, 2 Eusebio Guinazu, 1 Paul James.
Replacements: 16 Rob Webber, 17 Nathan Catt, 18 David Wilson, 19 Ryan Caldwell, 20 Will Skuse, 21 Peter Stringer, 22 Tom Heathcote, 23 Olly Woodburn.

Mogliano: 15 Nicolo' Fadalti, 14 Alessandro Onori, 13 Tommaso Boni, 12 Enrico Bacchin, 11 Filippo Guarducci, 10 Edoardo Padovani, 9 Enrico Endrizzi, 8 Thorleif Halvorsen, 7 Matteo Corazzi, 6 Edoardo Candiago (capt), 5 Federico Maso, 4 Marco Lazzaroni, 3 Alessio Ceglie, 2 Ivan Gianesini, 1 Davide Meggetto.
Replacements: 16 Ornel Gega, 17 Derrick Appiah, 18 Massimiliano Ravalle, 19 Meyer Swanepoel, 20 Simone Ferrari, 21 Alberto Lucchese, 22 Matt Cornwell, 23 Ezio Galon.

Date: Saturday 14th December
Venue: The Rec
Kick-off: 15:00 (local and GMT)
Referee: Leo Colgan (Ireland)
Assistant Referees: Mark Patton (Ireland), Brain Macneice (Ireland)

Viadana v Bayonne

Viadana: 15 Kaine Robertson, 14 Nicola Sintich, 13 Daniel Rudolf Yakopo, 12 Gilberto Pavan, 11 Riccardo Pavan, 10 Juan Pablo Sanchez, 9 Pietro Travagli, 8 Gonzalo Padro, 7 Andrea Barbieri, 6 Christoffell Johannes Du Plessis, 5 Joubert Prinsloo Horn, 4 Matteo Minari (c), 3 Marco Coletti, 2 Antonio Denti, 1 Giulio Cenedese.
Replacements: 16 Luca Bigi, 17 Daniele Greco, 18 Riccardo Cagna, 19 Liviu Pascu, 20 Pietro Moreschi, 21 Khyam Steven Apperley-Iti, 22 Marco Antonio Gennari, 23 Gianmarco Amadasi.

Bayonne: 15 Scott Spedding, 14 Martin Bustos Moyano, 13 Joe Rokocoko, 12 Manu Ahotaeiloa, 11 Bastien Fuster, 10 Santiago Fernandez, 9 Guillaume Rouet, 8 Opéti Fonua, 7 Julien Puricelli, 6 Jean Monribot, 5 Mark Chisholm (c), 4 Dewald Senekal, 3 Nemiah Tialata, 2 David Roumieu, 1 JC Van Rensburg.
Replacements: 16 Anthony Etrillard, 17 Aretz Iguiniz, 18 Gert Muller, 19 Lisiate Fa'aoso, 20 Jean-Jo Marmouyet, 21 Mathieu Belie, 22 Gabi Lovobalavu, 23 Matthieu Ugalde,

Date: Saturday 14th December
Kick-off: 15:00 (local, 14:00 GMT)
Venue: Stadio Comunale Pierluigi Zaffanella
Referee: Ian Tempest (England)
Assistant Referees: Darren Gamage (England), Paul Burton (England)

Stade Français v London Irish

London Irish will be bolstered for their return Amlin Cup fixture against Stade Francais at the Stade Jean Bouin with the addition of Ofisa Treviranus to the back row.

The Samoa International will join Declan Danaher and Kieran Low in the back row with Nic Rouse and Bryn Evans again playing together in the second row. Matt Parr, Mike Mayhew and Leo Halavatau make up the front row.

Shane Geraghty will again captain the Exiles and will be partnered by Darren Allinson at half back. Guy Armitage and Fergus Mulchrone combine in the centre with Andrew Fenby playing alongside Tom Fowlie and Alex Lewington who were the try scorers in last weekend's victory.

“We had a good win over Stade Francais last weekend in what was a fiercely contested match,” said Exiles boss Brian Smith.

“We have stuck with the majority of the same side that got the job done last week to go out again and show what they can do.”

Meanwhile, Stade bring in Hugo Bonneval and