Canterbury power past Otago

Date published: August 15 2015

Canterbury hit the ground running in the ITM Cup when they claimed a 38-24 victory over Otago in Dunedin on Saturday.

The men from Christchurch dominated from the outset and scored four tries with Richie Mo'unga, Reed Prinsep, Ben Funnell and Matt Todd all crossing the whitewash.

Tom Taylor landed seven out of eight kicks at goal to finish with an 18-point haul via two conversions and four penalties.

The visitors held a 26-10 lead at half-time thanks largely to Mo'unga and Prinsep's tries while Jack Wilson crossed over for a five-pointer for the hosts.

Otago scored first after the break when Josh Dickson crashed over the try-line but Canterbury's dominance continued when first Funnell and then Todd dotted down which secured their bonus point.

There was still time for Matt Faddes to score a try for Otago but by then Canterbury had already secured victory.

The scorers:

For Otago:

Tries: Wilson, Dickson, Faddes
Cons: Smith 2
Pens: Smith

For Canterbury:

Tries: Mo'unga, Prinsep, Funnell, Todd
Cons: Taylor 3
Pens: Taylor 4

Otago: 15 Tony Ensor, 14 Matt Faddes, 13 Jayden Spence, 12 Teihorangi Walden, 11 Jack Wilson, 10 Fletcher Smith, 9 Kaide Whiting, 8 Mika Mafi, 7 James Lentjes, 6 Adam Knight, 5 Josh Dickson, 4 Jackson Hemopo, 3 Hisa Sasagi, 2 Liam Coltman, 1 Craig Millar.
Replacements: 16 Sam Anderson-Heather, 17 Donald Brighouse, 18 Scott Manson, 19 Charlie O'Connell, 20 Naulia Dawai, 21 Josh Walden, 22 Peter Breen, 23 Michael Collins.

Canterbury: 15 Tom Taylor, 14 Johnny McNicholl, 13 Jack Goodhue, 12 Rob Thompson, 11 Patrick Osborne, 10 Richie Mo'unga, 9 Mitchell Drummond, 8 Luke Whitelock (c), 7 Matt Todd, 6 Reed Prinsep, 5 Dominic Bird, 4 JJ Manning, 3 Siate Tokolahi, 2 Ben Funnell, 1 Daniel Lienert-Brown.
Replacements: 16 Nick Werahiko, 17 Alex Hodgman, 18 Sione Faletau, 19 Tom Sanders, 20 Mitchell Dunshea, 21 Jack Stratton, 22 Milford Keresoma, 23 Marshall Suckling.

Referee: Michael Lash