Canterbury pip Otago

Date published: September 24 2016

Canterbury got back to winning ways as they claimed a 45-34 win against Otago in Christchurch on Saturday. 

Canterbury star Johnny McNicholl instigated the first try of the game when the winger broke the line using some silky foot-work after a pop pass from fly-half Richie Mo'unga. McNicholl was tackled close to the tryline before the pass went wide to prop Alex Hodgman who scored.

Canterbury were the next to score as well after they put Otago under too much pressure and eventually pierced through as centre Rob Thompson scored the five-pointer. 

Canterbury started to dominate proceedings after McNicholl joined the backline from the side of the field and eventually gave the assist to fellow winger Nathan Earle who dotted down for the third try of the game. 

McNicholl continued to make himself a nuisance to Otago as Canterbury took a quick line-out after a long punt into touch, which was passed to McNicholl who gave it to flanker Billy Harmon who burst through tackle and scored. 

Otago finally got a try of their own when Matt Faddes assisted wing Fa'asiu Fuata'i after some great linking work that involved the whole team. 

McNicholl then got a try for himself when fly-half Mo’unga chipped the ball into space for the winger to chase and collect which he did well and touched down in the corner. 

Otago weren't done yet after Teihorangi Walden just scored a try of his own he assisted number eight Paul Grant after flicked a pass out the back door to the bog loose-forward for him to score. 

The scorers: 

Tries: Hodgman, Thompson, Earle, Harmon, McNicholl, McDuling, Nathan Vella
Cons: Mo’unga 5

Tries: Fuatai, Walden, Grant, Dawai
Cons: Smith, Eade 3
Pens: Smith 2

Canterbury: 15 Jordie Barrett, 14 Johnny McNicholl, 13 Jack Goodhue, 12 Rob Thompson, 11 Nathan Earle, 10 Richie Mo’unga, 9 Ere Enari, 8 Luke Whitelock (c), 7 Billy Harmon, 6 Reed Prinsep, 5 Dominic Bird, 4 David McDuling, 3 Siate Tokolahi, 2 Ben Funnell, 1 Alex Hodgman
Replacements: 16 Nathan Vella, 17 Daniel Lienert-Brown, 18 Lee Roy Atalifo, 19 Scott Barrett, 20 Tom Sanders, 21 Jack Stratton, 22 Poasa Waqanibau, 23 Ben Volavola

Otago: 15 Tony Ensor, 14 Mitchell Scott, 13 Matt Faddes, 12 Sio Tomkinson, 11 Fa'asui Fuatai, 10 Fletcher Smith, 9 Jonathan Ruru, 8 Paul Grant (c), 7 James Lentjes, 6 Lee Allan, 5 Blair Tweed, 4 Josh Dickson, 3 Hisa Sasagi, 2 Sam Anderson-Heather, 1 Aki Seiuli
Replacements: 16 Sekonaia Pole, 17 Michael Mata'afa, 18 Donald Brighouse, 19 Dillon Hunt, 20 Naulia Dawai, 21 Josh Walden, 22 Scott Eade, 23 Teihorangi Walden