Canterbury end Auckland’s home record

Date published: August 29 2015

Auckland suffered their first defeat in four years at Eden Park on Saturday after losing 27-21 to Canterbury.

The visitors racked up a four-try bonus point after 59 minutes before clinging on for a famous win.

Auckland had a chance to extend their impressive record but a handling error at the death killed off their hopes.

There was good news for All Blacks head coach Steve Hansen however as prop Charlie Faumuina came through 40 minutes.

New Zealand centre Ryan Crotty opened the scoring for the visitors in the 12th minute for the first try with an interception, after Simon Hickey's earlier penalty for Auckland.

Rising star Akira Ioane hit back for the hosts with a powerful line break than ended in a try for an 8-7 lead before Crusaders speedster Johnny McNicholl replied for Canterbury with a long-range score.

Dan Leinert-Brown also crossed just before half-time to give the visitors a sizeable lead at 19-8.

A converted try from George Moala cut down the gap between the two sides but McNicholl more or less instantly replied for his second score, again from a long way out.

Auckland tried to keep in touch with penalties from Hickey and his brother Jono Hickey, but Tom Taylor replied with three points of his own for Canterbury to help them close out the match 27-21, securing a bonus point win.

The scorers:

For Auckland:
Tries: Ioane, Moala

Con: S Hickey
Pens: S Hickey 2, J Hickey

For Canterbury:

Tries: Crotty, McNicholl 2, Leinert-Brown

Cons: Taylor 2

Pen: Taylor

Yellow Card: Funnell

Auckland: 15 Lolagi Visinia, 14 Bryce Heem, 13 Reiko Ioane, 12 George Moala, 11 Charles Piutau, 10 Simon Hickey, 9 Kaito Shigeno, 8 Akira Ioane, 7 Mitch Karpik, 6 Joe Edwards, 5 Liaki Moli, 4 Michael Fatialofa, 3 Charlie Faumuina, 2 Greg Pleasants, 1 Ofa Tu'ungafasi
Replacements: 16 Kurt Eklund, 17 Sam Prattley, 18 Jono Owen, 19 Scott Scrafton, 20 Airi Hunt, 21 Jono Hickey, 22 Mitch Hunt, 23 Melani Nanai

Canterbury: 15 Cameron McIntyre, 14 Johnny McNicholl, 13 Ryan Crotty, 12 Tom Taylor, 11 Patrick Osborne, 10 Richie Mo'unga, 9 Mitchell Drummond, 8 Luke Whitelock (c), 7 Matt Todd, 6 Reed Prinsep, 5 Dominic Bird, 4 Mitchell Dunshea, 3 Joe Moody, 2 Ben Funnell, 1 Daniel Lienert-Brown
Replacements: 16 Ged Robinson, 17 Alex Hodgman, 18 Siate Tokolahi, 19 Ben Matwijow, 20 Joshua Manning, 21 Jack Stratton, 22 Rob Thompson, 23 Marshall Suckling

Referee: Chris Pollock