Cane cleared of foul play

Date published: March 22 2016

1022.6666666666666x767__origin__0x0_Sam_Cane_Chiefs_v_Crusaders_SR_2016

Chiefs skipper Sam Cane has been found not guilty of a dangerous tackle made during his side's clash with the Jaguares in Buenos Aires on Saturday.

A SANZAAR Judicial Hearing found Cane not guilty of contravening Law 10.4 (e) Dangerous Tackling, when he made contact with Jaguares prop Nahuel Chaparro at a tackle contest during the match at Velez Sarsfield.

The Judicial Committee of Michael Heron QC and David Croft held the hearing by video conference on Tuesday 22 March 2016.

In their finding, the Judicial committee ruled the following: 

"The judicial committee tonight has considered the citing of Sam Cane for dangerous tackling contrary to Law 10.4(e).  The committee determined that it was not satisfied the citing was made out.
 
"A full decision will be issued in due course.  In summary, the Committee found that the incident was an unfortunate combination of Mr Cane joining to create a maul in a permissible manner at the same time as Mr Chaparro fell rapidly to the ground.

"The contact between the shoulder of Mr Cane and the head of Mr Chaparro was unintentional and not able to be foreseen for that reason. 

"The Committee considered that what occurred could not be described as a tackle because Mr Chaparro was not the ball carrier.

"The Committee considered whether the contact between Mr Cane and Mr Chaparro could constitute foul play other than that described in the citing.  It was not satisfied that any other ground of foul play fairly described what occurred here.
 
"For those reasons, the citing was dismissed."

COMMENTS