Burgess included in England squad

Date published: March 16 2015

Bath centre Sam Burgess has been named in the extended England squad to prepare for their final Six Nations match against France at Twickenham on Saturday.

The 34-man group has assembled at the Pennyhill Park training base ahead of the crunch battle this weekend as four teams are still in contention for the title.

Stuart Lancaster’s side collected their third win of the 2015 Championship against Scotland at the weekend after tries from young trio Jonathan Joseph (his fourth in as many Tests), George Ford and Jack Nowell in the 25-13 triumph.

Despite missing a number of presentable chances in the Calcutta Cup clash, England top the standings with a points difference of plus 37, with Ireland on plus 33 and Wales on plus 12.

France, who beat Italy 29-0 in Rome for their second victory in four games, are still in with a mathematical chance of the title if they defeat England, given their current points differential of plus 22.

Burgess caught the eye last week during a 15-on-15 full-contact session and the league convert has been given another opportunity to further his development within the England environment.

Lancaster will name his match-day 23 on Thursday.

Forwards: Dave Attwood (Bath) , Kieran Brookes (Newcastle Falcons), Calum Clark (Northampton Saints), Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers), Alex Corbisiero (Northampton Saints), Nick Easter (Harlequins), Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints), James Haskell (Wasps), George Kruis (Saracens), Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints), Joe Marler (Harlequins), Geoff Parling (Leicester Tigers), Chris Robshaw (captain, Harlequins), Mako Vunipola (Saracens), Billy Vunipola (Saracens), Tom Wood  (Northampton Saints), Tom Youngs (Leicester Tigers),

Backs: Mike Brown (Harlequins), Sam Burgess (Bath), Luther Burrell (Northampton Saints), Danny Care (Harlequins), Danny Cipriani (Sale Sharks), Kyle Eastmond (Bath), George Ford (Bath), Alex Goode (Saracens), Jonathan Joseph (Bath), Jonny May (Gloucester), Stephen Myler (Northampton Saints), Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs), Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs), Billy Twelvetrees (Gloucester), Anthony Watson (Bath), Richard Wigglesworth (Saracens), Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers).