Bulls ring the changes for Sunwolves

Date published: March 24 2016

Bulls head coach Nollis Marais has handed three players their Super Rugby debut starts when they face the Sunwolves in Singapore on Saturday.

Tian Schoeman, Jason Jenkins and Lizo Gqoboka have each received the nod in the starting XV. 

Coming off the bench in the draw against the Sharks last weekend, Schoeman replaces Francois Brummer while Gqoboka comes in for Trevor Nyakane. Brummer and Nyakane move to the bench. 

The other replacement in the backline sees Jesse Kriel come in for fellow Springbok Jan Serfontein.

The injury to Grant Hattingh – who hasn't travelled with the team – hands Jenkins his start. Nicolaas Janse van Rensburg will provide the back-up at lock. 

Pierre Schoeman comes in for Hencus van Wyk on the bench, the prop will make his Super Rugby debut should he make an appearance. 

"We had a good session here in Singapore and I wanted to refresh our effort this week," Marais said. 

"The guys coming off the bench will be fresher than those who played against the Sharks and we are going to need a fast start. 

"We have seen them play, but the Sunwolves will still be an unknown factor to us. They will be dangerous and we need to be sharp."

Captain Adriaan Strauss has said they are excited to be playing in Singapore for the first time.

"Our focus is to deliver 80 minutes of quality rugby on the field," Strauss said. 

"We have not played here before, so will have to adapt to the conditions and the opponents, so need to be at our best. 

"We are keen to deliver a performance that we and our supporters can be proud of."

Bulls: 15 Warrick Gelant, 14 Jamba Ulengo, 13 Jesse Kriel, 12 Burger Odendaal, 11 Bjorn Basson, 10 Tian Schoeman, 9 Rudy Paige, 8 Arno Botha, 7 Jannes Kirsten, 6 Roelof Smit, 5 RG Snyman, 4 Jason Jenkins, 3 Marcel van der Merwe, 2 Adriaan Strauss (c), 1 Lizo Gqoboka 
Replacements: 16 Bandise Maku, 17 Trevor Nyakane, 18 Pierre Schoeman, 19 Nicolaas Janse van Rensburg, 20 Nic de Jager, 21 Piet van Zyl, 22 Francois Brummer, 23 Jan Serfontein

Date: Saturday, March 26
Venue: Singapore National Stadium, Singapore
Kick-off: 18:55 local (10:55 GMT)
Referee: William Houston 
Assistant Referees: Shuhei Kubo, Aki Aso
TMO: Takashi Hareda