Bulls name squad for Australian tour

Date published: April 19 2016

Bulls head coach, Nollis Marais, has selected a 27-man squad for their Australian tour to face the Force, Waratahs and Brumbies.

The majority of the squad has already seen action in this year's Super Rugby competition with Hanro Liebenberg and Dries Swanepoel returning from Currie Cup and Varsity Cup duty respectively.

The players are hungry to continue their winning ways this year and will be eager to return to South Africa with vital away log points.

“Touring is never easy, and for many in the squad it will be a first Super Rugby tour to Australia," said Marais.

"It’s important for us not to focus on the travel but rather the task at hand, and that’s to pick up points abroad. We’ll be looking to continue the momentum we have managed to build over the last few weeks, and we also know that we owe our supporters a good showing while on tour." 

The Bulls will play three matches Down Under against the Western Force (April 29), Brumbies (May 6) and the Waratahs (May 14) before returning to Loftus Versfeld to face the Stormers on May 21.

Bulls touring squad: 

Forwards: Trevor Nyakane, Lizo Gqoboka, Pierre Schoeman, Marcel van der Merwe, Werner Kruger, Adriaan Strauss (c), Bandise Maku, Jaco Visagie, Jason Jenkins, Marvin Orie, RG Snyman, Lappies Labaschagne, Jannes Kirsten, Arno Botha, Roelof Smit, Hanro Liebenberg 

Backs: Piet van Zyl, Rudi Paige, Francois Brummer, Tian Schoeman, Jan Serfontein, Jesse Kriel, Daniel Kriel, Dries Swanepoel, Jamba Ulengo, Travis Ismaiel, SP Marais