Brumbies stick with winning combination

Date published: August 2 2013

The Brumbies have named an unchanged side for their Super Rugby final clash with the Chiefs on Saturday.

The Brumbies have named an unchanged side for their Super Rugby final clash with the Chiefs on Saturday.

It's the third straight week that Jake White has stuck with this matchday 22, with the Brumbies mentor confident that his troops have another big match in them.

“At this stage of the season it's nice to be making consistent selections and keeping the same team together. I'm pleased with how the season has unfolded so far but we have one more challenge to overcome before we can be completely satisfied,” said White.

The match is a final one in Brumbies colours for George Smith who was part of the title-winning Brumbies squads in 2001 and 2004. Clyde Rathbone, who also lifted the silverware in 2004, is once again preferred out wide to Wallaby Joe Tomane.

The men from Canberra will need to secure front-foot ball from set pieces and as such the front row of Ben Alexander, Stephen Moore and Scott Sio – who were in powerful form against the Bulls last time out – will be key to their charge.

Likewise, the nine to twelve axis of Nic White, Matt Toomua and Christian Lealiifano will need to be on point with their kicks out of hand, with the Chiefs possessing a potent running outfit.

“They are the champions, they have been here before and are playing at home so for our guys to beat the Chiefs will take a huge effort,” White said of the opposition.

“Our players have worked hard to get to this final and I can assure you they are not thinking of leaving here without another Brumbies championship.”

Brumbies: 15 Jesse Mogg, 14 Henry Speight, 13 Tevita Kuridrani, 12 Christian Lealiifano, 11 Clyde Rathbone, 10 Matt Toomua, 9 Nic White, 8 Ben Mowen (c), 7 George Smith, 6 Peter Kimlin, 5 Sam Carter, 4 Scott Fardy, 3 Ben Alexander, 2 Stephen Moore, 1 Scott Sio.
Replacements: 16 Siliva Siliva, 17 Ruan Smith, 18 Fotu Auelua, 19 Colby Faingaa, 20 Ian Prior, 21 Andrew Smith, 22 Joe Tomane.

Date: Saturday, August 3
Venue: Waikato Stadium, Hamilton
Kick-off: 19:35 (07:35 GMT)
Referee: Craig Joubert
Assistant referees: Chris Pollock, Garrat Williamson
TMO: Vinny Munro