Brumbies change five for Bulls

Date published: May 4 2016

Brumbies head coach Stephen Larkham has made five changes to his starting XV that will face the Bulls in Canberra on Friday.

The two-time champions are currently tied for second placed with Waratahs on 21 points, two points adrift surprise package side, the Rebels.

Tomás Cubelli and Christian Lealiifano remain the half-back pairing while the versatile Robbie Coleman gets his first start at inside centre after Matt Toomua was ruled out with a knee injury while James Dargaville gets promoted from the bench into the left wing position.

Toomua, who was initially named in the starting lineup, left the field in the 73rd minute of the Brumbies loss to the Highlanders last week and has not recovered in time for this week’s match.

Captain David Pocock, Jarrad Butler (number eight) and Scott Fardy are once again named as the loose forwad combination. 

Rory Arnold replaces Tom Staniforth in the second row with the latter being named amonsgt the replacements.

Wallaby captain Stephen Moore returns to the starting lineup after picking up an injury in the 40-14 loss to the Crusaders two weeks ago.

Moore will pack down alongside Ben Alexander and Scott Sio in a new-look front row combination.

Brumbies (revised): 15 Aidan Toua, 14 Nigel Ah Wong, 13 Tevita Kuridrani, 12 Robbie Coleman, 11 James Dargaville, 10 Christian Lealiifano (cc), 9 Tomás Cubelli, 8 Jarrad Butler, 7 David Pocock, 6 Scott Fardy, 5 Sam Carter, 4 Rory Arnold, 3 Ben Alexander, 2 Stephen Moore (cc), 1 Scott Sio.
Replacements: 16 Josh Mann-Rea, 17 Allan Alaalatoa, 18 Ruan Smith, 19 Tom Staniforth, 20 Blake Enever, 21 Jordan Smiler, 22 Joe Powell, 23 Lausii Taliauli

Date: Friday, May 6
Venue: GIO Stadium, Canberra
Kick-off: 19:45 local (09:45 GMT)
Referee: Ben O'Keeffe
Assistant Referees: Will Houston, Ed Martin
TMO: Peter Marshall