Brown to skipper Scotland

Date published: January 28 2013

Interim head coach Scott Johnson has named back-row Kelly Brown as his Scotland captain for the 2013 Six Nations Championship.

Interim head coach Scott Johnson has named Kelly Brown as his Scotland captain for the upcoming Six Nations.

The Saracens back-row, 30, skippered the Scots in all three of their November internationals, and will continue in the upcoming tournament.

“It was right and proper that the coaches considered captaincy at the same time as we were looking at selection of our squad for the England game,” said interim boss Johnson.

“We believe Kelly has the qualities we're looking for to captain Scotland.

“Captaincy is about deed in my book, not Churchillian oratory, and the knowledge and experience that Kelly brings to the Test match arena is good for this team. We are also looking at our leadership group and I'll be naming two vice-captains in the team that we announce on Tuesday.”

Brown added: “It's a huge honour to captain Scotland. The job now, though, is to work with all the other players in the squad to deliver a performance to make the country proud against England this weekend.

“It's a while since I've played against England. I missed out through injury in last year's Six Nations and I was sidelined during the Rugby World Cup match in Auckland as well, so I'm really raring to go.”

Johnson has trimmed the squad that were in camp last week from 35 to 27, all of whom will remain attached to the national team with none featuring on Scotland A duty.

The only addition to those who were in Glasgow last week is flanker Alasdair Strokosch who was excused from the camp as his wife gave birth to their second child.

Revised Scotland squad for the opening Six Nations Championship game against England:

Backs: Max Evans, Stuart Hogg, Peter Horne, Ruaridh Jackson, Greig Laidlaw, Sean Lamont, Sean Maitland, Peter Murchie, Henry Pyrgos, Matt Scott, Tim Visser.

Forwards: Johnnie Beattie, Kelly Brown, Geoff Cross, David Denton, Ross Ford, Grant Gilchrist, Ryan Grant, Richie Gray, Dougie Hall, Jim Hamilton, Robert Harley, Alastair Kellock, Moray Low, Pat MacArthur, Euan Murray, Alasdair Strokosoch.