Bonus point win for Montpellier

Date published: March 13 2016

Montpellier climbed up to fifth in the Top 14 after a bonus point win over their hosts Oyonnax on Sunday.

Jake White's side finished with four tries to one from Oyonnax, climbing above Toulouse in the process after 17 games in the league.

Oyonnax remain rooted to the bottom of the table and their discipline cost them on Sunday, losing two forwards to yellow cards.

Quentin Etienne opened the scoring for the hosts after nine minutes before Montpellier recorded the game's first try through full-back Ben Lucas, converted by Demetri Catrakilis for a 7-3 lead.

Oyonnax then lost tighthead prop Antoine Guillamon to a yellow card with Paul Willemse grabbing Montpellier's second try not long afterwards, Catrakilis converting once more as Montpellier went into half-time ahead at 14-3.

Jody Jenneker's try for Oyonnax after the break gave the home side a chance of a comeback, but that was swiftly taken away through Montpellier's third try by winger Benjamin Fall.

A penalty by Catrakilis stretched the lead to 24-10 until replacement Bismarck du Plessis went over after 64 minutes for Montpellier's fourth try to seal the comfortable win.

The scorers:

For Oyonnax: 
Try: Jenneker
Con: Etienne
Pen: Etienne
Yellow Cards: Guillamon, Missoup

For Montpellier: 

Tries: Lucas, Willemse, Fall, B du Plessis

Cons: Catrakilis 4

Pen: Catrakilis

Yellow Card: Jacques du Plessis

Oyonnax: 15 Silvere Tian, 14 Alaska Taufa, 13 Eamonn Sheridan, 12 Roimana Hansell-Pune, 11 Dug Codjo, 10 Quentin Etienne, 9 Fabien Cibray, 8 Pedrie Wannenburg, 7 Olivier Missoup, 6 Valentin Ursache, 5 Geoffrey Fabbri, 4 Leon Power, 3 Antoine Guillamon, 2 Jody Jenneker, 1 Soane Tonga'uiha
Replacements: 16 Jeremie Maurouard, 17 Laurent DelBoulbes, 18 Fabrice Metz, 19 Maurie Fa'asavalu, 20 Julien Blanc, 21 Regis Lespinas, 22 Jimmy Yobo, 23 Marc Clerc

Montpellier: 15 Ben Lucas, 14 Timoci Nagusa, 13 Robert Ebersohn, 12 Frans Steyn, 11 Benjamin Fall, 10 Demetri Catrakilis, 9 Nic White, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Wiaan Liebenberg, 6 Fulgence Ouedraogo, 5 Paul Willemse, 4 Jacques du Plessis, 3 Nicolas Mas, 2 Mickael Ivaldi, 1 Mikheil Nariashvili
Replacements: 16 Bismarck du Plessis, 17 Yvan Watremez, 18 Thibault Privat, 19 Akapusi Qera, 20 Benoit Paillaugue, 21 Anthony Floch, 22 Jesse Mogg, 23 Jannie du Plessis

Referee: Cedric Marchat