Bonus-point win for Connacht

Date published: September 30 2016

Connacht picked up their first win of the PRO12 season on Friday as they beat Edinburgh 28-15 with a try bonus-point at the Sportsground.

Last season's PRO12 champions came into this game on a run of three straight defeats at the start of their title defence.

And the evening didn't start off well, with Edinburgh fly-half Jason Tovey opening the scoring with a penalty in front of the posts.

But the hosts were quick to hit back. A superb solo effort from Niyi Adeolokun saw him break through a lacklustre Edinburgh defensive line to sprint in from 30 metres.

A Jack Carty conversion and a penalty a few minutes later extended Connacht's lead to seven points.

Edinburgh were level a few minutes later, a lovely pass to Grant Gilchrist saw him crash over for the try despite the best efforts of the Connacht defence, with Tovey adding the extras.

A second penalty from Carty kept the scoreboard ticking over for the home side.

Connacht scored their second try just before half-time, with slick hands from Jake Heenan ending with second-row Quinn Roux dotting down in the corner.

The hosts started the second-half as they finished the first, with replacement Cian Kelleher finishing off a lovely move to score his side's third try of the evening.

But Edinburgh wouldn't go home without a fight. After a sustained period of pressure inside the Connacht 22, a wonderful piece of improvisation from Glenn Bryce moved the ball out to Mike Allen who scored to reduce the deficit to eight points.

However, the comeback wasn't to be. Connacht finally sealed the bonus point score wth a powerful finish from inside centre Peter Robb, with Carty failing to add the extras in the blustery conditions.

The scorers:

For Connacht:
Tries: Adeolokun, Roux, Kelleher, Robb
Con: Carty
Pens: Carty 2

For Edinburgh:
Tries: Gilchrist, Allen
Con: Tovey
Pen: Tovey

Connacht: 15 Tiernan O’Halloran, 14 Niyi Adeolokun, 13 Bundee Aki, 12 Peter Robb, 11 Matt Healy, 10 Jack Carty, 9 Kieran Marmion, 8 John Muldoon(c), 7 Jake Heenan, 6 Eoin McKeon, 5 Ultan Dillane, 4 Quinn Roux, 3 Conor Carey, 2 Tom McCartney, 1 Denis Buckley
Replacements: 16 Dave Heffernan, 17 Ronan Loughney, 18 Finlay Bealham, 19 Lewis Stevenson, 20 James Connolly, 21 Caolin Blade, 22 Shane O’Leary, 23 Cian Kelleher

Edinburgh: 15 Glenn Bryce, 14 Damien Hoyland, 13 Chris Dean, 12 Solomoni Rasolea, 11 Michael Allen, 10 Jason Tovey, 9 Sean Kennedy, 8 Cornell Du Preez, 7 John Hardie, 6 Magnus Bradbury, 5 Grant Gilchrist (c), 4 Ben Toolis, 3 WP Nel, 2 Ross Ford, 1 Rory Sutherland
Replacements: 16 Stuart McInally, 17 Jack Cosgrove, 18 Allan Dell, 19 Lewis Carmichael, 20 Hamish Watson, 21 Sam Hidalgo-Clyne, 22 Sasa Tofilau, 23 Blair Kinghorn

Referee: Nigel Owens (Wales)
Assistant Referees: Simon Rees (Wales), John Carvill (Ireland)
TMO: Jon Mason (WRU)