Bonus-point win for Connacht

Date published: March 3 2017

Connacht got the job done against Zebre on Friday as they picked up a 33-3 bonus-point victory at the Sportsground in Galway.

The victory moves Connacht momentarily up into mid-table, although last year's champions still sit some way off the play-off places.

Pat Lam's outfit came through Friday's challenge as expected with five tries, converted uniquely by four different players.

And aside from a Guglielmo Palazzani penalty this was one-way traffic, as Connacht added tries in the first half through Niyi Adeolokun and Naulia Dawai.

John Muldoon added a try off the bench, with a penalty try and final score from Lewis Stevenson sealing the win.

The scorers:

For Connacht:
Tries: Adeolokun, Dawai, Muldoon, Penalty Try, Stevenson
Cons: Cooney, O'Halloran, Carty, Ronaldson

For Zebre:
Pen: Palazzani
Yellow Card: Bernabo

Connacht: 15 Tiernan O’Halloran, 14 Niyi Adeolokun, 13 Bundee Aki, 12 Tom Farrell, 11 Stacey Ili, 10 Steve Crosbie, 9 John Cooney, 8 Eoghan Masterson, 7 Naulia Dawai, 6 Eoin McKeon, 5 Andrew Browne, 4 Lewis Stevenson, 3 Dominic Robertson-McCoy, 2 Tom McCartney (c), 1 Ronan Loughney
Replacements: 16 Dave Heffernan, 17 Denis Buckley, 18 Finlay Bealham, 19 Quinn Roux, 20 John Muldoon, 21 Kieran Marmion, 22 Craig Ronaldson, 23 Jack Carty

Zebre: 15 Dion Berryman, 14 Mattia Bellini, 13 Tommaso Boni, 12 Tommaso Castello, 11 Lloyd Greeff, 10 Serafin Bordoli, 9 Guglielmo Palazzani, 8 Federico Ruzza, 7 Gideon Koegelenberg, 6 Matteo Cornelli, 5 Valerio Bernabò (c), 4 Quintin Geldenhuys, 3 Dario Chistolini, 2 Oliviero Fabiani, 1 Bruno Postiglioni
Replacements: 16 Tommaso D’Apice, 17 Andrea De Marchi, 18 Bartholomeus Le Roux, 19 Joshua Furno, 20 Matteo Archetti, 21 Carlo Engelbrecht, 22 Matteo Pratichetti, 23 Guillermo Roan

Referee: Ben Whitehouse (Wales)
Assistant Referees: Rhys Thomas (Wales), Ken Imbusch (Ireland)
TMO: Jon Mason (Wales)