Bonus-point win for Canterbury

Date published: August 18 2013

Canterbury got the defence of their ITM Cup title off and running in perfect style on Friday as they beat Taranaki 30-6 with a bonus-point.

Canterbury got the defence of their ITM Cup title off and running in fine style on Friday as they defeated Taranaki 30-6 with a bonus-point.

The easy victory was claimed at AMI Stadium in Christchurch due to the champions' ability to limit mistakes and capitalise on their chances as Patrick Osborne, Matt Todd, Luke Katene and Adam Whitelock scored the home side's tries.

Visiting outside centre Andre Taylor replied to Tyler Bleyendaal's ten points with six of his own but Taranaki were really never in the game as Canterbury – missing the injured Tom Taylor, Nasi Manu and Robbie Fruean – showed their class.

Canterbury will look to make it two from two next week when they face neighbours Tasman while the 'Naki make the tough trip to Wellington.

The scorers:

For Canterbury:
Tries: Osborne, Todd, Katene, A Whitelock
Con: Bleyendaal 2
Pen: Bleyendaal 2

For Taranaki:
Pen: Taylor 2

Canterbury: 15 Jamie Verran, 14 Patrick Osborne, 13 Adam Whitelock, 12 Rob Thompson, 11 Milford Keresoma, 10 Tyler Bleyendaal, 9 Willi Heinz, 8 Jordan Taufua, 7 Matt Todd, 6 Luke Whitelock, 5 Luke Katene, 4 Matt Symons, 3 Nepo Laulala, 2 Ben Funnell, 1 Paea Fa'anunu.
Replacements: 16 Marcel Cummings-Toone, 17 Sione Faletau, 18 Joel Everson, 19 Jed Brown, 20 Andrew Ellis, 21 Richie Mo'unga, 22 Marty Swart.

Taranaki: 15 Kurt Baker, 14 Jackson Ormond, 13 Andre Taylor, 12 Isaia Tuifua, 11 Waisake Naholo, 10 Beaudein Waaka, 9 Chris Smylie, 8 Blade Thomson, 7 Berny Hall, 6 Kane Barrett, 5 James Broadhurst, 4 Jarrad Hoeata, 3 Shane Cleaver, 2 Timo Tutavaha, 1 Carl Carmichael.
Replacements: 16 Rhys Marshall, 17 Sione Lea, 18 Mitchell Crosswell, 19 Doug Tietjens, 20 Jamison Gibson-Park, 21 Daniel Brooks, 22 Seta Tamanivalu.

Referee: Shane McDermot